Posted in 1 JOhn 4: 4, 4516624, Actress, Are you living on supplements by Bisi Oladipupo, Atlanta Courts found them guilty in a miscarriage of ju, Began Couple Gets Life!, Cafe Sozo, Calling all Prayer Warriors To Pray For This Young Coup, Can Courts Forgive and if so Whom When and Where?, Couple gets life when newborn dies!, Crown Shakur Thomas, Forgiveness, God is a merciful God..., High Blood Pressure in African American families is an, I don't plan to give up fish, I feel a kinship to Vegans, I took a regimen of vitamins..., I'm a Pescetarian..., Interdenominational Prayer Call!, John 10: 10, Lamont and Jade Thomas, Lamont is barely making it on the prison diet..., Matthew 14: 13-21, Negligence of sorts perhaps but life in prison No Way!, Not Being Smart Gets Couple Life!, Not being smart shouldn't Get You Life in Prison!, Not Being Smarter Gets Couple Life in Prison!, People made fun of them because the baby was born in a, Please get the Word out on this story!, Pray for this young couple!, Prayer Help needed!, Prayer Request Not Being Smarter Gets Couple Life in P, Prayer Request: Not Being Smart Gets Couple Life!, Save The Children!, Some say their crime was being ignorant and stupid..., Some say their crime was being poor and Black, Some say they were just too inexperienced, Terri Savelle For writes You'll never possess what you', The baby died at six weeks old..., The prosecutor successfully got the jury to ignore thei, The thief, The View, Their beliefs didn't fit the mold., They were charged with cruelty to children, They were charged with malice, They were charged with Malice murder and Felony murder!, Two Million Poor Children in the United States, Vegan Couple Gets Life in Prison When Newborn Dies!, Vegans, Vegetarians, We will knock down the gates of heaven in prayer!, Yeap Chee Seng's Weblog

Vegan Couple Get Life! by Elaine Davenport (Tuesday, February 5, 2008)

jade-and-lamont.jpg

JADE AND LAMONT THOMAS; VEGANS (NOT THE FIRST COUPLE TO BE TRIED FOR THIS OFFENSE)

Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves: be ye therefore wise as serpents, and harmless as doves. Matthew 10: 16

First and foremost; I watch very little television and less news reports so I missed this one. I want to say that I’m “thinking” a lot of other people in my circle (you’re my circle) may have as well. So that’s why I wanted to present this story warning you that your heart can be right but you still have to watch and pray.

vegetariandiet.jpg

I’m not a vegetarian, but I don’t eat pork, beef, turkey, chicken, pie, cake, snacks and a few more things. I aim to eat healthy each day. I never became a vegetarian; but it was always in the back of my mind because diseases that are health related have been known to run high in prior generations of certain elements of my family. So, I try to be proactive about my health. My body is a temple of the Lord. Some may not understand it and in fact, I pray that this enlightenment will come to them soon. Some of the people that I personally know take some form of medication. Many in my circle do not. I on the other hand went from a high of seventeen medications (including a regiment of nutritional aids) to my current number which is zero! Bless God! As a result, my ears “perked” up when I heard this story while walking on the tread mill.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I HAD TO SEARCH HARD TO FIND A DECENT PICTURE OF LAMONT & JADE.

Lamont Thomas, according to his mother had noted many years ago when he was young that most of his older relatives were on High Blood Pressure Medication; so he made a decision that it would not include him. (I could relate to that because every uncle I had or have (except one) and every aunt that I knew had high blood pressure. My mother, my grandmother did too.) That got Lamont to thinking and he became a vegan. Some say their crime is being Black and Poor. Some say it was ignorance and stupidity. Some say they were just too young and inexperienced. They had no food in their cabinets at the time the baby died so I’m not seeing how this could have been deliberate.

HERE’S A NICE FAQ SITE SHOWING CLARIFICATION OF VEGANS AND VEGETARIANS ETC. CLICK HERE
For purposes of confession; according to the chart, I’m a Pescetarian.

However, I do feel a kinship with Vegans but don’t expect to give up the fish any time soon.

READ: ARE YOU LIVING ON SUPPLEMENTS BY MY FRIEND BISI OLADIPUPO; HERE

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Story Continues…

crownshakur.jpg

CROWN SHAKUR THOMAS

Lamont Thomas became a Vegan and soon met and married Jade and the two of them became vegans. Soon they had a baby named Crown Shakur Thomas and they decided to put him on a Vegan diet of Soy milk and Apple Juice. The problem was that the apple juice caused the baby to have diarrhea and thereby unable to retain any nutrition that it was getting. It appears that the baby was also not under pediatric care at the time. By the time a problem was detected by the couple; the baby was rushed to emergency where it died.

The couple who I might add was also poor and African American was charged in Atlanta, Georgia with malice murder, felony murder, involuntary manslaughter and cruelty to children. When I heard it: I couldn’t believe it!

I thought about my children and the ages of this couple. Lamont Thomas being 31 years of age and Jade Thomas being only 24 years of age. My children still in their twenties have stated that they never intend to have children. I laugh sometimes because both (who are professional students in their own right) just don’t strike me as being capable of taking care of children for so many reasons. If I “were” a grandparent; I’d welcome it but now is not the time and that’s okay.

Jade made a statement in court. Imagine this: a loving mother, confined and accused who just lost a baby. She spoke but only anger poured out of her mouth. I wondered why (an if) a good attorney might not have advised another approach?

Next, Lamont spoke; he explained that he loved his son. “Why do you think I named him Crown?” They didn’t get it. His words were like air.

The prosecutor had maintained that this was not at all about them being vegetarians. Huh?

Anyway, the jury found this couple Guilty on all counts. No, I don’t plan to leave the Midwest and I don’t care who says that they love Georgia. I’m sorry that’s my thought on the matter; I’m staying put. This is a Blog right? So, I’m keeping it real. I was sick about the case and even mentioned it to some friends who replied: “Are you serious?” “That happened in this country?”

HERE’S MY THOUGHTS…

The prosecutor successfully got the jury to ignore the couple’s testimony. They weren’t actually regarded as Vegans. Yeah, I thought that was far out too. Vegans are supposed to be rich I’m told. This couple didn’t fit the mold; especially when they gave birth to their baby in a bathtub and didn’t choose medical care. Maybe, that’s why they weren’t supported by the Vegan community. Maybe there isn’t a Vegan community.

(A lack of compassion on the Internet; well gee…I guess it can be limited.) I don’t know if they had medical coverage; but my take is they were being judged and because their beliefs didn’t fit the “mold” they were persecuted. It seems a lot of people would have “ordinarily” believed them, but “something” stopped them.

My biggest shock was the lack of compassion amongst Bloggers and or Internet “commenters” ; many of whom professed to be Christians. (I don’t “know” them; but they “said” they were. I was surprised. As I read some of the insensitive comments I wondered where these people were coming from? I still don’t know. There were people who truly thought it was a deliberate act. I just shouldn’t have been shocked. Negligence of sorts, perhaps; but life in prison…No way!

LET ME THROW THIS IN. IN MY CIRCLE OF CHRISTIANS EVERYONE WAS EMPATHATIC AND VERY CONCERNED. WE’RE BORN AGAIN AND WE’RE NON DENOMINATIONAL….BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY WE STUDY GOD’S WORD. THERE IS NOTHING THERE THAT SUPPORTS OUR TURNING OUR BACK ON THEM. NOTHING.

I don’t know what religion; if any this couple is and I really don’t care…this is a prayer challenge. I’m asking you to pray for them.
I’d like to raise awareness of this “travesty of justice.” I’d like to see it go around the world.

What they did wasn’t smart; but it clearly doesn’t warrant life in prison! I went around the Internet to find out if anyone was talking about it and I saw a lot of people were against them. Mainly, because they lacked wisdom. From a spiritual perspective, I thought it to be warfare. Spiritual people will understand; others won’t. This is not a debating point, it’s a prayer notice. I’m also moving you to action; it could easily happen to someone that you know.

READ: YOU’LL NEVER POSSESS WHAT YOU’RE UNWILLING TO PURSUE BY TERRI SAVELLE FOY at my friend Yeap Chee Seng’s Weblog HERE

By the by: As a post script; Lamont is said to be doing horribly in prison as he is a Vegan and nothing in the prison diet is conducive to that. I understand he’s been try to subsist on peanuts and whatever else he can acclimate himself to. I am pleading with you to pass this on! I’m left to ponder the question: “Can Courts Forgive and if so Whom Do they Forgive and
When and Where?” Times like these makes me want to see more books out on the subject matter to educate young parents. Hmm?

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING: In similar cases, a New York jury convicted a vegan couple on murder
charges in the death of their child, but a Florida jury was more
lenient, acquitting vegan parents of murder and instead convicting
them on reduced charges of involuntary manslaughter, an unintentional
death. In that case, the couple had successfully raised two children
as vegans, but their third child died.

Thanks and Blessings. Your Prayers Count For Much!

forgiveness.jpg

The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. John 10: 10

READ ARTICLE HERE

READ ANOTHER HERE


____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Couple Get Life! by Elaine Davenport (Tuesday, February 5, 2008)

  1. From what I know, this whole case was based upon assumptions & not real proof. The prosecution assumed that this child was deliberately starved to death. Heres my question, why would a person deliberately starve their child to near death, then rush that child to the hospital so that doctors could save the child’s life? It dose not make any sense does it? The prosecution did not even say why they think this couple would commit a crime like this. Did the jury even ask themselves or anyone else these questions? The prosecution created this horrible story of what happened to this child with no proof what so ever to any of their allegations. The result; the jury went for it, apparently with no questions asked.
    I just cant believe the cruel, harsh & insensitive responses and comments that bloggers have posted on different websites that have covered this story. To those bloggers, I must say, “You have judged with no real proof; and cast many stones against this couple and all the while the fact remains that the accusations are still assumptions.”

    So this is the world we live in, huh?

    I think about this case all the time & I ask God why. So, I was lead to a couple of verses in the bible where God is speaking to 1 of his disciples and he says; when people in the world are against you, you may be criticized, wrongly judged, lied on, and then he said, you may even be falsely put in jail.
    Thats when I said, “oh no God; not falsely put in jail!”

    That just let me know that the most important thing that I can do for this couple is pray for them.

    I believe a lot of factors played a part against this couple. Yes, being black is the first one. Being black in the state of Georgia is another one. From experience let me tell you what Ive learned. People can be biased & prejudice and WILL judge you by the color of your skin and by the clothes you wear and many other things… Yes, its true. And the attorneys that represented them did not even do a half way decent job. They just sat there and provided nothing that would suggest their clients innocence.
    Did anyone listen to the part where it was said that these parents was feeding the baby milk and apple juice? Ok, so the baby WAS being fed. However, it’s reported that it was the wrong type of apple juice, and/or milk. That was not a deliberate attempt to starve this child, it was more of a unintentional mistake. This couple unfairly received life in prison for this mistake.

    I want to let this couple know that I’m praying for them everyday & everything that God does is not going to make sense to us humans. Gods knows exactly what he’s doing. It is said that he wont put anything on us that he knows we cant bear.

  2. Dearest Sister April, thank you so much for writing! When we publicized this incident, we expected to be swamped with people who were sympathetic. It never happened. I don’t think so much it represents a lack of sympathy on the part of “our” readers here at this site, just people’s lack of knowledge about the nature of Blogging forums… people on the Internet are always rushing and my prayer is that they’ll slow down to pray. We plan to mount a new campaign by email for them connecting them with our networks.

    Regarding your statements about the trial, the jury and the role that the prosecution took according to sources; we too were extremely disappointed. We don’t see this as a “Black Issue” even though we know that they are African Americans, we see it as a “Human Rights Issue” a true miscarriage of justice. Just a comment: When we shared this story with many friends whose opinions that we value from varied callings; the consensus was clear: “It’s a prayer call!” Also, not interested in moving to Georgia. Not at all. Blessings to you and please spread the word about our forum. Your comments are pertinent and valued!

Leave a Reply

