Posted in A fool is hotheaded and reckless..., A study into thinking and Emotion, Are you a victim?, Are you self absorbed?, Be positive!, Blessed here on earth..., Cafe Sozo, Cursing, Do not fret..., Do you have a bad temper?, Do you have a short fuse?, Do you have a temper?, Do you lose your temper?, Do you need attention?, Don't make me go off!, Dp you have a short fuse?, Faith messages are positive!, Fools..., Girls keying cars!, Going Off!, How do you handle pressure?, I was a dormat..., If you trust God, Negative moods promote negative thoughts..., People breaking windows..., Proverbs 12: 16, Proverbs12: 18, Prsons are full of people with short fuses..., Psalm 37: 8, Read the incredible writings at the Yeap Chee Seng Webl, Reckless words pierce, Refrain from anger, Scriptures on anger..., Self Control?, The Finger Sign, The tongue of the wise brings healing..., This reading will give you greater insight..., Wake up!, YEAP CHEE SENG WEBLOG, Yeap Chee SEng Weblong is an excellent site!, You can't fall apart!, you don't have to do all that!

Going Off! by Elaine Davenport (Wednesday, February 13, 2008)

shortfuse.jpg

DO YOU HAVE A SHORT FUSE? A LOT OF PEOPLE DO.

Going off means losing your temper, saying anything you feel and doing anything that you want to at the time just because you’re angry. It actually means you’ve lost your self control and it’s a good way to get attention, but it’s not Godly. It’s become so common nowadays and presents itself with people giving the finger sign or cursing. I was always really easy going in fact, my kids say that I was a doormat. We used to say: “Don’t make me go off!” It was a way of announcing that we could really be mean if we had to. That was so dumb. Some people may still do it now. They probably use different words though. In my social history; I learned at an early age to use my mouth as a weapon. It was a bad habit. I had to “unlearn” it. I didn’t want to have a reputation for not being agreeable; that was unacceptable to me.

I’ve heard all sorts of things about people with short fuses, short tempers and all sorts of crazy nonsensical stuff.

Here are just a few scriptures on anger:

Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret-it leads only to evil (Psalm 37:8).

A fool shows his annoyance at once, but a prudent man overlooks an insult (Proverbs 12:16).

Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing (Proverbs 12:18).

A wise man fears the Lord and shuns evil, but a fool is hotheaded and reckless (Proverbs 14:16

Now Let’s Talk About The Flip Side of This:

You can’t fall apart when things don’t go your way. If it’s someone else’s fault or your own…it doesn’t matter …don’t fall apart. That will only make things worse, not better. Years ago, I did some really stupid stuff. On the days when I didn’t have much money, I’d go and run up a charge and go on a shopping spree. If anything made me mad, I’d eat myself to sleep and gain weight that didn’t come off as fast as it came on. I got mad about car prices one time, so I went and bought a used car that didn’t have a gas gauge just to save money. I saved money but I ran out of gas all over town and even at night in strange neighborhoods. Those were foolish actions and subtle ways of of going off. The person who suffered was me. Not always right away.

Young girls (and probably guys too) get in relationships and when it doesn’t go their way, they go off, they key cars, break windows, get arrested for assault and other crazy stuff. The prisons are full of people who “snapped”. Many did this out of character; but we have to have self control.

If you…I’m talking to you… knew how much God loves you and gave less focus to the opinions of others, nothing could rattle you. I’ve been ridiculed but I give the devil no place. I don’t blame people for being weak. Nothing rattles me anymore. I no longer Monday Night quarterback situations; I let it roll off my back. You better have thick skin if you Blog. Everyone’s not going to agree with you. I simply trust God.

You can be secure in having a relationship with God; sure that He will protect you. I used to have 4 to 5 car accidents a year. They were never my fault. At one point, I thought about never driving again, but I turned the situation around by trusting in God to protect me. You can handle anything that comes your way because you have heavenly backing. This is a fact!

blessingstoday.jpg

It’s God intention that you are Blessed while you are here on earth, things will try to come against you, but they will not amount to much.

I have a friend in Singapore; who writes and presents (AT THE YEAP CHEE SENG WEBLOG) a wonderful slew of incredible revelations that are God inspired. I’d like to refer this one to you; so please read it today, right now. HERE: THE VALUE OF THINKING AND FEELING POSITIVE BY MARY ANN COPSON

READ: THE BLOOD ON MY BEDPOSTS HERE!


__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

4 thoughts on “Going Off! by Elaine Davenport (Wednesday, February 13, 2008)

  1. Thank You Elaine. Good post and right on time. I worked on being patient for many years and still continually feed on quotations/words/verses about being patient, so that I stay on an even keel. I still have a bad habit of bursting into tears when too many things are out of my control and I feel helpless. But I am a work in progress and am not complete yet ;-). I am working on controlling the waterworks though. If you can suggest any verses or words of wisdom on which to mediate on, that might help. I will be all ears. Also keep my in your prayers on this one too if you don’t mind: I’d be most appreciative.

    Have a good weekend, my friend.

  2. My Dear Friend Sondan, Blessings unto you. Thank you for your kind and sharing message. We are all works in progress. However, I am optimistic about you because the first thing that we all must do is admit our weaknesses. I used to get my feelings hurt real quick. I finally decided to just leave wherever I was quickly. I didn’t want to lose my temper or cry; but it never occurred to me that people were getting offended by my rapid exit. That’s when I had to pray for patience and strength.

    Look in the back of your bible in the Concordance. Look up wisdom, strength and peace. They will have scriptures that will Bless you. I love to read the Message bible version which you can read online at http://www.BibleGateway.com I will keep you lifted in prayer. In the meantime, here are three of my favorites:

    Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. (Isaiah 41:10)

    And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong. (2 Corinthians 12:9:10)

    That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love. (Ephesians 3:16-17)

  3. Dearest Marshall! Blessings…you know that’s why they call it a “faith walk” because sometimes it takes every ounce of our faith to pull us through! We look forward to your testimony! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

