Posted in 4610936, Arrogance, Backbiting is a sin!, boasters, Cafe Sozo, covenant breakers, Cruelty, despiteful..., Doing evil to your neighbor..., envy..., etrayal..., gossip, haters of God..., Humiliation of a stranger, Internet Blog Communications poor..., Logorrhea..., Lord who shall abide in thy tabernacle?, Maligning people, Overcoming Backbiting, proud..., Psalm 15: 1-3, Reprobate mind, unmerciful, unrighteousness..., What is a backbiter?, wickedness..., without natural affection...

Overcoming Backbiting by Elaine Davenport (Tuesday, February 12, 2008)

backbiting2.jpg

THE WORD SAYS:
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lord, who shall abide in thy tabernacle? who shall dwell in thy holy hill?

15:2 He that walketh uprightly, and worketh righteousness, and speaketh the truth in his heart.

15:3 He that backbiteth not with his tongue, nor doeth evil to his neighbour, nor taketh up a reproach against his neighbour. PSALM 15: 1-3
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I don’t care who you are or who you know; you’ll come across a backbiter and of course, there are many variations of it. What is a backbiter? Well, according to the bible it comes from the Greek word, kat-al-al-os. The word katalalos is used when God refers to the bitter fruit of apostasy when they did not retain God in their knowledge; God gave them over to a reprobate or condemned mind which means given up by God with no hope of salvation. A lot of people have heard this word, but many don’t understand it.

Here is the scripture passage that it is found in:

“And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient; Being filled with all unrighteousness, fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, debate, deceit, malignity; whisperers, Backbiters, haters of God, despiteful, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents, Without understanding, covenantbreakers, without natural affection, implacable, unmerciful: Who knowing the judgment of God, that they which commit such things are worthy of death, not only do the same, but have pleasure in them that do them” (Romans 1:28-32 KJV)

Some people suffer from Logorrhea; excessive talkativeness. Backbiting is something they can easily slip into because for lack of saying anything good…they just talk in vain. So the word backbiting is more in depth than gossip, it’s deeper than that. It almost implies a “sort” of arrogance or willful disregard for others. Believe it or not; it’s a problem in Internet Blog communications, amongst friends, in churches, it’s everywhere.

comments.jpg

But I’d like to talk about an side issue that many may find of interest amongst Bloggers. The purpose of Blogs is to get the word out. People set up their Blogs so that the readers can leave comments. Of course, this leaves an open door for all kinds of comments. The “owner” of the Blog or moderator has the rights of censorship for sure and that part makes sense. But I just don’t understand when they take the time to berate and humiliate the commenter. I just think it’s easier to just delete it or to write them privately to explain why the comment wasn’t appropriate or allowable. I think humiliating talk about a stranger is a form of backbiting. It happened to me and I had to make a choice. Would I be pulled into sin by doing the back and forth mode or would I forgive. I chose to forgive but I learned something. I learned to be careful where I go and to respect the opinions of others different than my own by moving on. I learned no to try to help when it clearly looks like help is needed unless I’m asked.

It’s funny because you can’t see anybody…so you have to walk by faith. It’s a good exercise, it really is!

What Do I Do when I meet people who backbite in person? That’s a tough question and it depends on how well I know them. But, no matter what I pray for them anmd admittedly I do try to avoid trouble. I try to associate myself with people who use the same moral compass as myself. That’s my aim. It’s a good guide.

backbite2.jpg

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

