Posted in Uncategorized

Your Life Vest by Elaine Davenport Tuesday, July 15, 2008

You probably never looked at it this way; but your ability to endure has been a life vest to you!

Longsuffering: Enduring or capable of enduring hardship or inconvenience without complaint:

Longsuffering is a life vest. It’s been given to you freely by God if you’re born again. It’s in your benefit package.

_______________________________________________________

Nobody wants hardships. In fact, in our society we give accolades to people who’ve endured the greatest hardships. Courts award them lots of monies in many cases. We often think that we can’t endure…but we the born again believers have been given the SUPERNATURAL ABILITY to endure. It’s there but we have to understand it. Let me explain:

My friends and neighbors know that every year I plan to have a spectacular yard. This year was no exception. I love Japanese Maple trees and I’ve always wanted one. A dear friend gave me a Japanese Maple out of her yard that was fully grown and extremely valuable. I was so happy. I began to pray about the whole thing and God gave me the go ahead. We had a time digging it up and transporting it. It took 4 people. We had to dig an enormous hole to put it in when we got to my house.

Once it was planted it was stunning! Soon…it began to die. Each day, that tree looked more dead. The leaves curled up. Soon, they began to fall off the tree. In desperation I researched it. I found out that I should have brought all the dirt it was planted in originally with me for the transplant. I gathered a group together and we went back and got it. Even put some expensive tree fertilizer soil in the ground when we dug it up again and we even made the hole bigger. I continued praying and was assured that the tree would survive. I heard God say: “This is a faith test.” Well, that canceled my plans to dig it up and throw it away!

Two weeks went by and there wasn’t much improvement. But the leaves stopped falling off and it rained a lot. It looked terrible! I’m sure my neighbors had a good laugh since I had recently completed a Master Gardener course. I began to speak scriptures to the tree. I stepped up my watering.

One day, I realized that the tree had one leaf that was normal. The next day there were two. Soon there were fifteen. Now, there are more than I can count. I had faith that God could restore this tree and fought each day the temptation to pull it up and throw it to the curb and I’m so glad. Because I was patient, I had a chance to see a victory. My next door neighbor said: “It may live!” I say: “It will live!” READ TREES BY JAMES JOYCE

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

What are you saying about the situations in your life that surround you? Are you saying what you see? Or are you saying what God’s Word says about it? How’s your mindset? Are you operating out of love, are you enduring patiently and trusting in God? If not, why not.

It doesn’t matter if it’s your health, a relationship, a child, a friendship, your finances, your job…get in the Word of God, move closer to God, find out what you’re supposed to do and make a vow to endure and do it!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

THE LOVE CONNECTION

Ministers keep telling us that God is Love. That’s true. Everything that He thinks towards us is based on Love; that is if you are one of His children. It’s your choice. If you aren’t His child; you’re simply His creation…there’s a difference. Don’t be fooled. God wants to reshape His children into being more like Jesus His son so He has equipped us through the Holy Spirit to be different to take on supernatural qualities. They are called THE FRUIT OF THE SPIRIT.

Well, if you think this is about that game show on television or some tid bit on Chuck Woolery the good looking host; sorry to disappoint you , but this is more important. This is about who God wants us to be. It may not seem important, but if we can become more like this in our character and personalities; things will go a lot smoother.

When we became born again our characters are supposed to change’ but it won’t be like Star Trek; we can’t “morph” into these new personalities. However, if we work at it and are aware of God’s intention it makes things a lot easier.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control.” (Galatians 5:22)

ARTICLES OF INTEREST:

WHERE DID ALL OF THIS JOY COME FROM?

LIFE AND PEACE COMES FROM THE SPIRIT

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

