Posted in Uncategorized

Forgetaboutit! by Elaine Davenport Monday, July 28, 2008

Matthew 22:37-40, “Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

UNFORGIVENESS: WHEN YOU CAN’T FORGIVE; ONLY YOU AND GOD KNOW. (and whoever else you tell.)

Most people don’t want to hear about Love; especially the kind where you have to give it many times without getting something in return. And there’s another kind of Love; the kind you have to have for people who are unlikeable or who’ve done you wrong. In the earthly sense; it’s impossible when we first consider it and a lot of people don’t want to try to let it go.

What’s the opposite of love? Yes, we can make a list:

1. Bitterness

2. Hate

3. Envy

4. Jealousy

5. Pride

Ever said: “I can forgive; but I won’t forget.”? Well, that’s not forgiveness.

INNOCENT VICTIM- One category of forgiveness we often find ourselves in is having to forgive things said or done when we really didn’t do anything.

LOVE IS ESSENTIAL!

READ 1 CORINTHIANS 13 HERE

I try to stay out of unforgiveness; because I know for a fact that it’s poison. It causes various diseases amd personally, in my experience my denial of its existence caused something really bad to happen to me. I had to repent. Working really hard to get rid of a root of unforgiveness; it once to me almost three months to get rid of feelings and thoughts in my subconscious mind to get rid of it. I believe that pride was blocking the way. I had a mindset of: “How could “they” do this to me after all I did for them and the good friend that I’ve been.” You know pride never allows us to reconsider that what happened to us usually has less to do with us and more to do with the “stuff” the other person is dealing with. Sad but true; more like you and your integrity, situation or circumstances were never considered.

Is it fair? Probably not, but you still have to forgive people when they wrong you.

YOU BROUGHT IT ON: Another category of unforgiveness is when you bring on a retaliatory action by something you’ve said or done in the past. This is harder because you may easily find yourself “caught up” in spiraling (back and forth with anger building) behavior that can quickly escalate without notice. It’s not spiritual.

My advice to you today is: “Forgettabout it!”

HAZARDS OF UNFORGIVENESS

1. You don’t love Jesus if you can’t forgive.

(For many people; that’s not a problem as they don’t love Jesus anyways; but that’s not my call. I’m just sayin…)

2. Blocks God from forgiving us.

3. Keep you out of heaven.

4. Opens the door for sickness, disease and curses.

5. Allows you to produce spiritual fruit.

There is so much so more…

!

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

2 thoughts on “Forgetaboutit! by Elaine Davenport Monday, July 28, 2008

  1. The Lord will never tell us to do what we cannot do. His Grace is available to us and His help.

    Yes, we do need to forgive for our own sakes.

    He is standing by to help.

  2. Hi Bisi! You’re right. That’s going in my “remember” box! Blessings and Love E

Leave a Reply

