Posted in Uncategorized

Joshua Allen Wins With God! by Elaine Davenport Sunday, August 24, 2008

By all accounts; Joshua Allen should not have won on So You Think You Can Dance. He had no formal or classical training. Admittedly, he exchanged chores at a Dance Studio for free lessons. (gee…we could all learn from that. hmm?) Joshua’s only nineteen years old and from Fort Worth, Texas; a place I’ve been that gave me a great impression.

It was predicted that he wouldn’t last in the competition but he just kept getting better. He was a street dancer and it seemed the judges had no respect for that either. (I guess they do now.)  (In the interest of responsible journalism; despite that point, the judges were in fact quite gracious and educating.  I thought they were actually superior to American Idol type judging.)

___________________________

I was watching So You Think You Can Dance and Joshua Allen caught my ear. It was what he said. I heard him say after a rigid review humbly: “I’m Blessed…

*****First off, you don’t just happen to get a name like Joshua. There’s no such thing as coincidences or luck in the Kingdom of God or in the world. (but admittedly, they don’t know it yet.) Amen.

Well, you don’t hear that too often on television and when I hear it sincerely put….I pay attention. You should too.

So I began viewing a story that had the trappings…of a Rocky….. I simply got a great kick out of watching the show. In the past, I hadn’t watched the show as somehow I didn’t quite get it and the judges seemed a tad too harsh. (but that doesn’t mean that they were) Now, I don’t know what had led them to a softer and more appealing criticism but this time around I found myself in constant agreement with them for the most part.

Nigel Lythgoe seemed to be making a rubber meets the road evaluation of Joshua, regarding his lack of experience. Kudos on that tap dance routine Nigel; and kudos to the Debbie Allen dancers; that was a very good routine that they did together. Good job! The judges liked him ( Joshua) but appeared to be favoring some other finalists…however; just when they were about to announce the winner live I thought….Hey! What if this little guy who looks like this all is over his head wins? What if?

When Joshua won: this is what he said:

The sky is the limit,” he said. “Never let anybody tell you you can’t do anything. God is in control. With God, you can do anything.”

Note: Some media and Internet accounts have mysteriously taken God’s name out; but I heard him say it!

Wow! When Joshua’s test came, a chance to tell the world in 10 seconds how he felt and who got him there…he passed he gave credit to God! That’s refreshing.

The sky was the limit for Joshua. He jumped so high he almost touched it. He dazzled us with feats that seemed impossible for someone of his stature. Though he was obviously wise he was never boastful but instead humble about it. He seemed to have great charisma with every partner they gave him. He had this innocence that Americans liked. After sixty million votes were registered; it did not matter that Joshua was a street dancer; it just didn’t matter.

America loved him and the sacrifice that he made! It was powerful! I look forward to the day that they get Praise Dancers on that show. It’ll happen.


_____________________________________________________________________

We’ll keep Joshua and his family covered in our prayers as well as the whole cast and crew.

* So You Think You Can Dance is a Fox reality show based on all types of dancing. In 2006, it was rated the Number One show viewed by adults ages 18-49.

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

