Posted in Uncategorized

The Integrity Factor by Elaine Davenport Sunday, November 16, 2008

The amazing thing about integrity and character is that you can’t see them…but they will

ooze out. Elaine Davenport

______________________________________________________________________________________

highroad_lg

God forbid that I should justify you: till I die I will not remove mine integrity from me. Job 27: 5

Have you ever avoided a phone call from someone whom you told “yes” when you really should have said No. Perhaps, they were selling something or perhaps, they wanted to take you to lunch…but now you’ve decided to just avoid them, not return their calls. You’ve begun to make excuses to convince yourself that what you’re doing is okay.

It’s not okay to lie to people, to say yes when you mean no. It’s not okay to mislead, to trick, to con, to gossip, to slander. It’s not okay to make sincere promises that you can’t carry out. It’s not okay not to follow up on your word. It’s not okay when your word means nothing or to change your mind without consideration or notice. It’s not polite, it lacks integrity. It’s a reflection on you…not in my eyes; but in God’s eyes.

It’s easy to “miss” it. For some people it’s easy; for others…it’s hard. Which are you? The first step to correction is admission. The first person that we have to admit it to is ourselves.

Here’s a good definition of Integrity: “Many people appear to use the word “integrity” in a vague manner as an alternative to the perceived political incorrectness of using blatantly moralistic terms such as “good” or ethical. In this sense the term often refers to a refusal to engage in lying, blaming or other behavior generally seeming to evade accountability.” ...Wikipedia

As Christians in a way out world laced by Babylonian thoughts and deeds, double mindedness and values intertwined; we can’t afford to be like ordinary people. We cannot just be good in church or on Sundays. We must be ethical in our lifestyles, personality, deeds, finances and the way that we do and say things. Our word must be sure. Our promises must be kept. We must be clean in heart, body and spirit. We cannot afford to be two-faced to others and especially not to ourselves.

I had a friend who promised me something and insisted that I call them the next day. When I called; I was unable to reach them and none of my phone calls were ever returned. I am required to forgive my friend which I did. However, it was a great reminder to me of how I would never want to do this to another person as it was indeed disappointing to the point of a little pain. The pain wasn’t physical; but it hurt me in my soul.

I hope it doesn’t sound like I’m on a soapbox. I’m human too. I have struggles just like everyone else…but I work extra hard to discipline myself and cast down all imaginations…I’ve gotten to be real good at that.

We’ve all got to work very hard to maintain our integrity.

_____________________________________________________________________________________






Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

