Posted in Uncategorized

So you want to be rich huh? by Elaine Davenport Monday, September 6, 2009

potofgold

Faith to Increase….

We were coming out of prayer; a bunch of us.  I had just recently started in a network marketing venture and I was so excited…I could hardly contain it.  I looked at a group of my friends and I exclaimed:  “I’m going to be rich!”  Everyone was very nice about it.  Most of them smiled and they each replied:  “Good for you.”  They didn’t want to hear more and they didn’t want the details.    I was perplexed, but I respected their responses.  I really shouldn’t have been talking about it and have learned to keep my mouth shut regarding private matters.  Note:  And that is very hard when you are a Blogger with a readership (sent by God) that is approaching one million rapidly …but I manage.

Many months later; I now look back objectively.  It’s been a year and so far I’ve not become rich and I have to fairly ask myself:  “Who’s fault is it?”

The answer is that it is my fault.  Was that business going to make me wealthy?  No and Yes, I’m sure it was a wealth path but I did some things wrong.  I didn’t work as hard as I should have.  I wasn’t a good steward over my monies during that time.  I wasn’t praying enough.  I was disobedient and a horrible procrastinator.  I got into it without proper research and I went into it gung ho and blindly.  I was very naive about the whole thing.  I used no Godly wisdom.  I didn’t consult my husband who is a wise financial manager who could have helped me.  It cost me.    On the other hand, it made some people wealthy and as I look back I’m not sure if I was was supposed to be one of them.  I believe that I got off the path.  I did not prosper and in no way was it ever God’s fault.  There were so many things that I was not doing that led to my sabotaging myself.  The main one might have been how easily I gave up; if I’m being honest. I never made one dime.    Well, it’s funny…I made $5.00 but they never mailed it.

(Just a side note:  It was an incredibly good product.    I had a wonderful travel experience and I met some wonderful wonderful people. )  I’m not trying to talk against any opportunity to start your own business…it has not made me shy about entrepreneurial experiences.)  Network marketing isn’t for me but I learned some things that they don’t teach in business schools while I was involved.  These things that I learned have  illuminated many  biblical truths.


The bible gives us some very clear directions about increasing; let’s look at some scriptures:

__________________________________________________________________________________

GENESIS 1:28 Then God blessed them, and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply; fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on the earth.”

But remember the LORD your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms his covenant, which he swore to your forefathers, as it is today.  Deuteronomy 8:  18

Genesis 26: 12-14

Then Isaac sowed in that land, and received in the same year an hundredfold: and the LORD blessed him.

1And the man waxed great, and went forward, and grew until he became very great:

1For he had possession of flocks, and possession of herds, and great store of servants: and the Philistines envied him.

ACTS 10:34 Then Peter opened his mouth and said: “In truth I perceive that God shows no partiality.

DEUTERONOMY 7:13 “And He will love you and bless you and multiply you; He will also bless the fruit of your womb and the fruit of your land, your grain and your new wine and your oil, the increase of your cattle and the offspring of your flock, in the land of which He swore to your fathers to give you.

OBEY

DEUTERONOMY 28:2 “And all these blessings shall come upon you and overtake you, because you obey the voice of the Lord your God:

DEUTERONOMY 28:13 “And the Lord will make you the head and not the tail; you shall be above only, and not be beneath, if you heed the commandments of the Lord your God, which I command you today, and are careful to observe them.

DEUTERONOMY 29:9 “Therefore keep the words of this covenant, and do them, that you may prosper in all that you do.

DEUTERONOMY 30:5 “Then the Lord your God will bring you to the land which your fathers possessed, and you shall possess it. He will prosper you and multiply you more than your fathers.

DEUTERONOMY 30:9 “The Lord your God will make you abound in all the work of your hand, in the fruit of your body, in the increase of your livestock, and in the produce of your land for good. For the Lord will again rejoice over you for good as He rejoiced over your fathers,

1 KINGS 2:3 “And keep the charge of the Lord your God: to walk in His ways, to keep His statutes, His commandments, His judgments, and His testimonies, as it is written in the Law of Moses, that you may prosper in all that you do and wherever you turn;

1 KINGS 3:11 Then God said to him: “Because you have asked this thing, and have not asked long life for yourself, nor have asked riches for yourself, nor have asked the life of your enemies, but have asked for yourself understanding to discern justice,

1 KINGS 3:13 “And I have also given you what you have not asked: both riches and honor, so that there shall not be anyone like you among the kings all your days.

2 CHRONICLES 26:5 He sought God in the days of Zechariah, who had understanding in the visions of God; and as long as he sought the Lord, God made him prosper.

2 CHRONICLES 31:21 And in every work that he began in the service of the house of God, in the law and in the commandment, to seek his God, he did it with all his heart. So he prospered.

NEHEMIAH 9:21 Forty years You sustained them in the wilderness, so that they lacked nothing; their clothes did not wear out and their feet did not swell.

NEHEMIAH 9:25 And they took strong cities and a rich land, and possessed houses full of all goods, cisterns already dug, vineyards, olive groves, and fruit trees in abundance. So they ate and were filled and grew fat, and delighted themselves in Your great goodness.

JOB 36:11 If they obey and serve Him, they shall spend their days in prosperity, and their years in pleasures.

PSALM 1:3 He shall be like a tree Planted by the rivers of water, That brings forth its fruit in its season, Whose leaf also shall not wither; And whatever he does shall prosper.

PSALM 5:12 For You, O Lord, will bless the righteous; With favor You will surround him as with a shield.

PSALM 23:1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

There are many many scriptures regarding increase in the bible.  In truth, the story of increase in the bible  is much more involved than most people think.   It involves:

A love for God that surpasses everything you’ve ever known.

A willingness to obey the Spirit of God.

A total understanding and acceptance of tithing.

A willingess to sow.    (SOWING IS GIVING)  You’ve got to be a giver.  An understanding of the yield that comes from sowing.

Cheating people is out.  Beating people is out.    Even if you are a Christian.  Tricking people is out of the question; but I shouldn’t have to tell you this.

A total understanding that God does not increase the way the world does.  People in the world must rely on luck, the lottery, an inheritance etc.
A mindset of total committment to the plan of God.

A willingness to give to the poor.

A consistent effort to read and comprehend the Word of God.
A lifestyle of meditation and following God.

Faith is not the least of these points; because in this walk; you won’t see increase coming and the plan for you may not make sense.

Patience is absolutely necessary.

Arm yourself with some scriptures and get your mind right.  Read this:

But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.

Matthew 6:  33

I’m a whole lot wiser now…I hope that you are too.  In no way am I saying that this is a complete study.

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

