Posted in Uncategorized

CRAZY PRAISER! by Elaine Davenport Thursday, September 17, 2009

Crazypraisehearts

When they write my eulogy; I’d love to be known as a “Crazy Praiser”!   That would be the greatest compliment.    Yes, I want to be called a faithful servant, a prayer warrior, obedient, quick to repent, compassionate, kind, loving and the like…but let it be said that I was a CRAZY PRAISER!

Praising is a form of love!    It is important that you know this.  It’s an outward expression of so many things but the base is love.  The root is love.  Love must express itself! When I praise…God is the object of my affections.

I don’t know why but it’s easy for most people to say “Thank you” after we get what we want.   I want to say that PRAISE is a form of thanks with so many dimensions.  Let’s talk about it.

Have you ever heard the expression:  “I’m so happy I could sing!”?

Being thankful makes people happy to varying degrees, but the ultimate level of that happiness in a verbal expression is praise.

Godly Praise is not only  a form of holiness and vocal but it also includes other forms of celebration which include jubilant dancing or lifting of hands.  Some people clap their hands.

For example, when I was about 10 years old all of the kids on the block wanted ice skates for Christmas, but I wanted roller skates.  I was being different and not so smart.  I didn’t even know how to skate.  Christmas came and so did a huge snow storm and everybody put on their ice skates and had a ball as I stared out the window with huge tears in my eyes.

I whispered:  “I wish I had gotten ice skates.”

I didn’t make a big deal out of my bad choice but it was hard.  My sweet mother said nothing.  She worked two jobs.  One day she came home with some ice skates for me.  I was so thankful, I thanked her, but I was on the quiet side and I showed my thanks more in my actions.  You see, I went out of my way to make my mother smile.  I cleaned her house, I mopped the floors, I ironed, I moved the furniture, I even made furniture covers for her bedroom furniture.  She loved to decorate but she never had the time so I did it for her.

________________________________________________________________________________

My faith walk would take me to another level of thanks.  One of the first things that I found out was that if I asked for something or believed God for help that as an outward expression of my faith, I was supposed to give thanks and praise as an outward expression of faith.  In other words,  if you believe that God is capable of answering your prayers…praise and thanks is in order.  You don’t have to wait until you see it.  I have practiced this and I admit it was hard at first, but it has never disappointed me.

Another dimension of praise is gratitude.  It’s an outward expression and it is not only an honorable thing to do, but it is also benefits the praiser and reinforces faith.  It is very invigorating.

Praise  builds confidence because it is so similar to the concept of  “bragging rights.”  That is also self invigorating.
I have many people that I pray with and sometimes people are greatly troubled.  When I suggest thanking God or praising him…they look at me like I’m crazy!    I want to scream:  “Don’t look at me like I’m crazy man!’  This is God’s best!

If you’re reading this today…I am imploring you to do a study on this…it will Bless you most certainly.  The next time that you pray…try giving thanks…try praising; you’ll be glad that you did.



It is a good thing to give thanks unto the LORD, and to sing praises unto thy name, O most High: to shew forth thy lovingkindness in the morning, and thy faithfulness every night.  PSALM 92: 1, 2

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
and his courts with praise!
Give thanks to him; bless his name!

Psalm 100:4

Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name;
make known his deeds among the peoples!
Sing to him, sing praises to him;
tell of all his wondrous works! —Psalm 105:1-2

Through him then let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of lips that acknowledge his name.

Hebrews 13:15

Ps 33:1
1 Rejoice in the LORD, O ye righteous: for praise is comely for the upright.   (KJV)

Remember Love….Praise!



Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

