Posted in Uncategorized

Busted Up Prayer Meeting! by Elaine Davenport Monday, October 5, 2009

Music to Read by:  “I Am A Friend Of God” by Israel Houghton

Godscallinglp

I once had a lot of people coming to my house for prayer meetings.  It was fun.  It seemed like we were all on the same page; until one day I sent them all a note.  It said the following:

“At our next meeting, we will go out on the streets to pray with people.  Please be on time..  Thank you sooo much.”

Sounds harmless right?  Well, the devil took those three sentences and ran with them!  My phone began to ring off the hook.  People wanted to know if I was serious.  One friend asked me if I was sure that God wanted me to do that.    She was in bible school.    Others had comments as well.  But even worse, on the day of the next scheduled prayer meeting the house was nearly empty!  This is true.   I felt really bad at the time.    I was driving down the street nearly in tears when I recalled that it wasn’t even my prayer meeting…it was God’s meeting.  What was I even crying about?  I’ll bet the devil hated that revelation!

Yet,  I kept remembering The Great Commission; the minister at church today reminded us of this:

Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:

20Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you always, even unto the end of the world. Amen.  Matthew 28: 19-20

About praying…we’re told:

Watch therefore, and pray always that you may be counted worthy to escape all these things that will come to pass, and to stand before the Son of Man. Luke 21: 36(NKJV)

Be unceasing in prayer [praying perseveringly] 1 Thessalonians 5: 17

I desire therefore that in every place men should pray, without anger or quarreling or resentment or doubt [in their minds], lifting up holy hands. 1 Timothy 2: 8

You see, the people who were invited to the prayer meeting that didn’t come…they missed an opportunity to increase their faith and stretch themselves…and they missed an opportunity to be obedient.  They weren’t willing, but I am sure that they got another chance.


ARE YOU THE ONE THAT WILL HEED THE CALL?

What do your family and friends think when they think about you?

What can they count on you for?  Can they count on you to tell them the truth?  Can they count on you to encourage them?  Can they count on you to be there when they need a listening ear?  Well, what if they just need prayer?  Maybe, they don’t even know it.  Can they count on you to just say a prayer with them?  What if they need to take a closer walk with God?  Can they count on you to tell them?  I sure hope so, but it doesn’t matter a whole lot in the scheme of thingswhat I think.  This however means a whole lot to God.


Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

