Posted in Uncategorized

I WAS DESPERATE FOR FRIENDS! by Elaine Davenport

IMG_1494

This article may not get a lot of hits…but it will prove to be valuable to those who read it!

I am a companion of all those who fear, revere, and worship You, and of those who observe and give heed to Your precepts. Psalm 119: 63

________________________________________________________________________


When I first became born again, no fireworks went off for my friends.    They weren’t heathens, they were believers too.  They were good people too.   But, they didn’t want to talk about scriptures. loving God and what Jesus could do, would do or had already done.  That put me on an island….with just me and God.  I could see the look on my extended family’s faces; they hated to see me coming.  They tried everything to get me to shut up including challenging me,  countering whatever I said and ignoring me.    This forced me to try many approaches  and ultimately I decided to minister to them and not to convert them.  Because I had dialed down my aggressive approach, they welcomed the ministering.

I gave it to God.  I prayed for them, but I took a back seat and gave it to God.  I’d say more, but they’ll probably read this so I’ll just say:  “you know.”


When Tiger Woods goes out to take care of Business; he goes out with other professional golfers.  The other golfers have pushed him to greater heights and despite what the media says they have challenged him.  A closer look at the golfers and you will find that they are friends.  They may not all love each other; but they have a connection and that is respected and esteemed by most.  They are not just golfers, but they are people traveling a path of destiny together.

I had to find myself some faith friends, people who loved God who put him first and who were interested in walking out God’s plan for their lives, loved God and people and had hearts of compassion.  Oh,  it didn’t hurt if they were on fire for God!  This was a tall order I thought; so I prayed about it and sat back and waited.

A friend loves at all times, and is born, as is a brother, for adversity. Proverbs 17: 17

They began to come all kinds of friends and it unfolded that our common ground was prayer and care.

At one point, people were coming and going and moving and though it was exciting to have so many genuine friends; at times it was sad.  God answered my prayers, I changed…I got stronger.  What  a  God!

_________________________________________________________________________________

Make no friendships with a man given to anger, and with a wrathful man do not associate. Proverbs 22: 24


Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

