Posted in Uncategorized

The Efficacy of Words by Patricia Saddler November 9- November 16, 2009

The Efficacy of Words      peopletalking

By Patricia Saddler


Webster’s 1828 Dictionary defines efficacy as power to produce effects; …as the efficacy of the gospel in converting men from sin; the efficacy of prayer; the efficacy of medicine in counteracting disease; the efficacy of manure in fertilizing land.

Growing up in the 50’s we kids had a saying, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me.”  Today as an adult (the sum total of words) I realize that statement was not the truth.  In reality words are far more powerful than sticks or stones.

 

 

 

The efficacy of words have the ability to harm you or protect you; to bring disease upon you or keep you healthy; to bring death to you or life.  Notice I said “…as an adult (the sum total of words)… I am who I am today because of words that have been spoken to me and words I spoke over myself, some good … some not so good.  I’ll write a little about that later.


Words are far more powerful than most people realize and the most powerful of all words is the Word of GOD. John 1:1 reads, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with GOD, and the Word was GOD.”  Here we see that God and His Word are the same. Verse 3 reads, “All things were made by Him, and without Him was not anything made that was made.” The Word created all things.  Throughout the beginning of the book of Genesis it states that GOD said … and then He saw … In Genesis 1:26 GOD said, “…Let us make man in our image, after our likeness …”  We were created as speaking spirits just as our Creator is a speaking SPIRIT.  Our words are powerful like His Words; however, His Words are far more powerful.


There’s another saying I grew up hearing and saying, “You are what you think you are.”  It wasn’t until I grew up stronger in the Word of GOD that I realized the absolute truth of what I was saying.  I was activating a biblical principle without realizing what I was doing.  You see, what you think you will eventually say.  Over the years as a special education teacher there were many times a child would cough or sneeze in my face and I would say, “Oh no, I’m going to catch your cold.”  Usually I’d find myself with an itchy, scratchy throat before the day was over.  Here’s another word that often came out of my mouth, “I’m so shy.  I do well teaching my students and interacting with my parents, but put me before a group of other people and I can’t put to words together without shaking like a leaf.”  As a result of my confession, I spent most of my adult life extremely shy.  I had created that persona with my words.

 

Today I speak in many open forums without an ounce of shyness.  When the school I taught at for 23 years closed I spoke at the closing ceremony.  One of the retirees in attendance later said to me, “Pat Saddler, I never knew you to be so bold.  What happened?”  What happened?  The Word of GOD happened.  I began speaking His Word over my life and re-created a bolder, securer, more loving persona unlike I ever thought possible.  I’m a new creation in CHRIST JESUS.  I’m a new creation through speaking His Words.  When the doctor (another speaking spirit) told me I had asthma I spoke GOD’S Word and said, “Oh no, by the stripes of JESUS I’m healed!”  When the bank teller told me my balance was a negative $127.00 and I knew I wasn’t expecting any money any time soon, I said, “But my GOD supplies all my needs.”  Before the week was over I had a paying speaking engagement, a friend blessed me with $100.00, and another brought me $50.00 worth of groceries not knowing that my cupboards were bare.  In all three situations the people told me that they were led to be a blessing to me.

And by the way, my lungs are strong and healthy.  You see, when we speak GOD’S Word over a situation He sends His ministering angels to perform it.

The efficacy of words must not be taken lightly.  Keep that in mind when speaking about anything or anyone.  Proverbs 18:21 reads, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue; and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.”

From one speaking spirit to another: Choose your words wisely.  Speak only what you desire not what adverse circumstances project, but what GOD’S Word says about it.  His Words are far more powerful and bring sweeter results.

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

