Posted in Uncategorized

The Ugly Side of Gossip by Elaine Davenport December 11- December 19, 2009

Proverbs 13:3 The one who guards his mouth preserves his life; The one who opens wide his lips comes to ruin.

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=tiger+woods+and+wife&iid=6756069″ src=”0/a/7/c/The_Presidents_Cup_07db.jpg?adImageId=8229387&imageId=6756069″ width=”500″ height=”570″ /]

Before this latest media windstorm; I rarely thought about Tiger Woods or his wife.  However, I was just thinking that if the media has their way; I’ll spend countless hours thinking about them and talking about them.  I REJECT THAT.  Other than prayers…I cannot do that.

What did they do and when did they do it?  That’s gossip and I don’t have time for it.  Will I direct my prayers towards them?   Yes, I will.


If you turn off the television every time that they dig up “dirt” on a celebrity…you’ll be on a television fast!


Do we have the right to be in Tiger Woods business?    Even if he is guilty it’s not my call.  It doesn’t sound good, but it is still his business.

Well, let’s see…it seems that our U.S. society is constantly in the bus iness of anyone who has consented even by default of leading a public life…so in the eyes of many it is okay.

There will come a time when believers will stand up and begin to fervently pray for all of our public figures.  That time will come with a consistency.  We care about their souls; that is our concern.

Many elements of gossip are hated to God.  He says so in His word.  Look at this:

Proverbs 6:16-19

16 These six things doth the LORD hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him:

17 A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood,

18 An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief,

19 A false witness that speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren. (KJV)

What is gossip?  Here’s my very real definition:

Gossip is the result of man’s curious desire to get as much information as they can about people known or unknown; even realizing that all or much of it may not be true.  It is a participation activity that requires your verbal opinions and ability to pass it on.    GOSSIP IS A CONTACT SPORT!  It’s takes the powerless and makes them more powerful by allowing them to judge the behaviors of others.  As long as the focus is on others; it cannot be on ourselves.  In many cases the quest to amass knowledge of any subject of gossip is equal to or leading up to an obsession.  It is demoniacal  no matter how well it is presented.  There is no good side to speaking of others behind their backs or asking people to publicly tell their business in hopes that people will tune in and judge.

Celebrities walk a very slippery slope.   One might proclaim that they are just people who work hard for a living in a specialty field that pays well.    Others may say that they knew that their lives would be scrutinized  and that dark side came with the trappings of the job.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Let’s back up…

If someone were to knock on my door to try to tell me what my next door neighbor was doing from a moral perspective; I would shut the door.  I might even scold them before shutting it.  I might lecture them or  admonish them.  Once that door is shut that is the end of it.

The celebrity television (gossip) shows entice people with bright and bubbly conversation.  They are in a gray area.  They say that they want to give us information, but too often it is very speculative laced with inferences, opinions and rumors and few facts.    I admit that sometimes the facts are correct, but the way in which they are obtained are deceptive and unscrupulous.  In other words, too often the “facts” are things that the parties do not want known.

On the Internet there is an incredible fascination with gossip.  The gossip sites can say anything or put any picture up and people will come flocking.  When we wrote about CHristians in the media for whatever reason; our hits go through the roof, even though most people do not agree with what we say…they come, they keep coming back because they’re hoping to gather more information.

GOSSIP IS DEMONIC

John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.

Too often, most of us sit back and say nothing as gossip ruins people’s lives and the lives of families.  This is a prayer issue.

Gossip has the potential to steal money of out people’s pockets, steal their joy, steal their families, kill their relationships, their potential, and to destroy their expected end in many cases.

Sometimes the innocent suffer, but often the person is guilty of something, but never believe that man can judge or that what the media version is could possibly be the complete story.  The plan to dissect a person’s life-like we too often see is manipulative, diabolical, obsessive and a plan to make money by getting you to spend money to hear short or long unscientific theories…or gossip.

Don’t sign up for it….resist the devil and he will flee.  It is a plan to desensitize you morally.  Remember where you heard it.

Proverbs 25:9-10, 23 Argue your case with your neighbor, And do not reveal the secret of another,Or he who hears it will reproach you, And the evil report about you will not pass away. The north wind brings forth rain, And a backbiting tongue, an angry countenance. (Backbiting is revealing the secrets of another, causing strife.)

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

5 thoughts on “The Ugly Side of Gossip by Elaine Davenport December 11- December 19, 2009

  1. Laine…I can’t agree with you more. I was in fact thinking about it when I saw someone I know with a beaten-up Tiger Wood picture on their facebook profile. It made me think…what if it was their marriage being paraded out for the whole world to see…how would they feel?

  2. Hi Gladwell! Are you inside my head? Smiles…that’s the way that I feel about it. It is a PRAYER POINT. I urge everyone of faith to pray for Tiger Woods and his wife and to pray that the public cannot be consumed by the “gossip craze.” Thanks for your comments! Blessings & Love Lanie

  3. Certainly, I am not saying that Tiger Woods is an innocent victim, but I am saying that God is judge not any of us.

  4. Cousin, in short you have hit the nail on the head. I am guilty in sometimes letting myself get drawn into gossip. Although I will pull back, it’s not good all the same. I thank you once again for sending me godly news in order to sustain myself and to help me get closer to my lord and savior.
    I love you even more each day.

    Tasha

  5. Hey little sweet Tasha! How are you all doing? Well family…I appreciate you so much! You know, it may not be popular to come out publicly and say this BUT IT IS THE TRUTH! We’re on the Lord’s side and He will remember! I once used to be fascinated in the “listening” and then one day I just put my foor down and disconnected. That happened after I heard some ridiculous stuff that somebody just made up about me. That was about 20 years ago and I still remember it vividly though I did forgive them. I want to say that it is complete wrecklessness when people start to speculate about others…the destruction lasts so much longer than when the story ends. Blessings & LOve and thanks for writing. Still keeping you guys lifted…

Leave a Reply

