Posted in Uncategorized

A Grandmother’s Walk of Faith by Elaine Davenport December 15- December 22, 2009

Grandmothers are special.  We should cherish  them!


Believing God For The Impossible!

I don’t care what it is; God can fix it!  I don’t care what it is or how bad it sounds…He can take the weight off of you and He can carry it!

Luke 1:37 (King James Version)

37For with God nothing shall be impossible.

My grandmother had a third grade education  and yet; she was so smart.  Every businessman in the neighborhood respected her and every crook came to know that she was wise.    She was a  Proverbs 31 woman; a woman of virtue.  She made us quilts out of all of the material scraps from when we made our clothes!  The entire neighborhood ate dinner at her house on a daily basis and no one was a stranger.  She would help anyone and admonish a parent for not doing right by their children She did what the bible says to do:  she walked it out, she did not just talk it.    She flowed in the Wisdom of God.  This is a fact.

My grandmother used to sing this song in church and I don’t even remember the title…but some of the words were:  “Ask the Savior to help you, comfort, strengthen and something…and then it ended with:  “he will carry you through!”

*** Special Notice:  The Song was called:  “Yield Not To Temptation.”  A special thanks to my cousin April Coleman for hitting up my email and bringing me up to speed!  She’s pretty sharp.  Praise The Lord!

Now before you dismiss this let me tell you.  My grandmother had stomach cancer for well over 20 years during the 1930’s and the 1940’s and God carried her through it.  She was probably one of the  few cases they had that survived but she did.  She was in the hospital all of the time and did not work; yet her husband never left, always provided for her and he loved her more and more.    I came along some time after that but I totally witnessed his unfailing love for her.  They married in  1920.  They stayed together for life.
_____________________________________________________________________________

People have all kinds of challenges, all kinds of woes…but God can handle every single one.  If it is big and complicated….your problem…He can handle it.  If it’s tiny and small almost insignificant; He can handle it.  If it bothers you, it bothers Him and He can fix it!

When I was in college, I deliberately planned a path of excellence and God backed it!  As sure as I know it…I know that He can do the impossible; but if you doubt it…don’t expect it .  Jesus  says:

“According to your faith be it unto you.’ Matthew 9:29

That does not mean according to my faith!  It means according to YOUR faith.  If you have no faith, there will be no power to back you.  God is not going to force Himself on you.  ASk the atheists.  They can tell you.    (Now somebody may be praying for their deliverance but that is a whole “nother” story.)

If you have a “little faith, you can move a mountain. And your faith can grow just by hearing the Word of God over and over.  There will be a trial, a test…I don’t know when; but build yourself up today so that you can be ready for it!  You owe that to yourself!

If you are a parent, make a decision today to leave a faith legacy in your family that is undeniable strong!  God will back it.

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

2 thoughts on “A Grandmother’s Walk of Faith by Elaine Davenport December 15- December 22, 2009

  1. Thanks Laine for sharing this. My grandmother back in Kenya was a first generation Christian. I owe much of who I am as a Christian to her and my mother. Yes…godly grandmothers are precious. MINE IS, and I give God glory for her!

  2. Hi Gladwell! Girl, how are you? I loved your pictures! Oh my they are wonderful! You’re so right. My grandmother too was the reason that I know God today! My mom too. I forgot to say that in my article. Blessings & Love Lanie

Leave a Reply

