Posted in Uncategorized

Stop Playing With God! by Elaine Davenport January 2, 2009

If you’re going to work for God; get serious.  He has given direct orders…don’t treat it like those bills you pile somewhere out of sight.

You know what you’re doing and God does too!

I could be seen on multiple occasions praising God in my local church.  By all accounts, I appear to be busy working for God.  I write to people all over the world on a daily basis and I pray with people all over the world, I’m in several prayer groups, I visit the sick, I’m a giver and I am sure that I’ve left out a lot of other good deeds…but STILL I had missed the mark.

I had gotten over my hang ups on serving.  I was disciplining myself and I was more obedient than I had ever been in my life…so what was it?

I was avoiding bring people to the Lord. I had it fixed in my head that it was too hard.    Oh, using technology I was bringing them in by the droves….but one on one; not so good.

I know people who are trained to do this and I was feeling inadequate.  But, the worst part is that I knew God wanted me to stop passing people by, to get them saved.  He hadn’t called for me to go out on the streets, but to handle my little corner of the world.  The people who are comfortable around me…the people that know me, that trust me.

My uncle, my aunt, some people who I know.

But, I was putting it off.

As I sat one day Thanking God their faces came to my heart.  There was a heaviness.  It was as if God was saying I would like to Thank you too.  I trusted you when I gave you this assignment.

Here I was waiting on the next pat on the back, and God did not have a reason to do it.  He owes me nothing whether I am obedient or not. I on the other hand, owe Him everything.

And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.

My job with God is to go out into ALL the world bringing the good news.  My job is not to decide that some people need to hear it more than others.  I am to be sensitive to not overlook anyone, but to be ever on the ready.

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

