Posted in Uncategorized

Mighty Mountain Man Leaves A Legacy of Hope and Humor January 3, 2010

(Please listen to the videos while you read this…consider this a message from GG…)

(SEE VIDEOS BELOW)

Love one another with brotherly affection [as members of one family], giving precedence and showing honor to one another.
Romans 12: 10

I met my cousin GG as an adult.    He lived in West Virginia and I lived nowhere nearby.  He loved the mountains.  I had heard of him for many years, but I had never met him.  I had seen him from a distance at family gatherings; but he seemed aloof to me.  He was not, it was I who was aloof obviously.

GG, I found was patient, persistent, determined and focused..oh yeah, did I say that he had a sense of humor?

I offer this picture of  GG and his son Leon sitting in Leon’s Mercedes Convertible   (First picture above!)  because it reflects GG’s graciousness and sense of humor and reminds me of the freedom that Kathy Bates and Alfre Woodward had when they jumped in the car to ride across country to the tune of I Hope You Dance.  That song I am reminded of…when I think of  GG.  He decided that no matter what life tossed   his way; he would not be left out.

The day came when we were to speak and I was shocked to find him so friendly and so kind.  He was trying to get in touch with some of our missing in action family members and I volunteered to be a liason.


Last weekend he made his transition.  He was a gentle giant.  He was gracious and kind.  I did not say that he was perfect but I watched him so often when we would have our family reunions.  He was blind, but you would never know it, except by looking.  He had made a decision a long time ago to live life to the fullest.  What I call his strengths; some my call  challenges.  Even though some may have thought he had logistical shortcomings…I would watch him park himself right in the center of things, never complaining.  I am sure that it wasn’t easy, but he longed to be in the midst of a family because for him love never failed.  Love respect and trust is what makes families work.  I thank God that GG reflected all of these characteristics in all that he did…and oh…what a sense of humor.  I want to cry…but instead I smile.

I pray that as we all face challenges in life and that we can be so gracious as we face them.



It actually turned into a very funny joke.  You see, I tried my best to  get a message to them…to no avail.  Initially, I didn’t understand why he was having a problem contacting them and in the end it was I who had the problem.  I gave up.  We laughed and decided they just didn’t want to be contacted and we left it alone.  Through it all, I had noted how enthusiastic he was to have someone else come on board.  I had given him hope and even after I failed; he was gracious.  Years later, I would see him and he would make small talk and then quietly ask if I had ever contacted them and my answer was always…“No.”

They missed it. But, it’s okay because GG and I never took it personally…we moved on.  As we always must do sometimes.


That effort had allowed him to think of me as a long time friend; he was a great guy.

We’ll miss you GG!


“Give faith a fighting chance…”

I’ve also enclosed the Video of the song…I Hope You Dance  (with a country flair)  …so that you are able to understand the sentiments.

I Hope You Dance by Lee Ann Womack

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

