Posted in Uncategorized

Judgment by Elaine Davenport January 10-17, 2010

I always thought that “some” (unknown) people on the Internet who talked about judgment…were a little off.  Especially when they mentioned people who I knew (who hadn’t done anything but serve God justly.)    To this day I believe that I may have been right.  When I say off, I don’t necessarily mean cuckoo as much as I mean “listening to voices that weren’t of God.”  There are many voices out there; that’s a fact.  But, there is only one God. He is in control and He judges the good and the bad.

*** My only point is that  often the viewpoints are extreme and not biblical.

When people think of the word “judgment” they think of different things.    There is God’s judgment  (which most people forget about and that it is ongoing) ,  there is man’s judgment which can sometimes be accurate and…sometimes of the flesh,  there is the last judgment or Judgment Day that is all to familiar to believers and non-believers. (both parties being guilty of thinking thst day is not near)

For years in the body of Christ most pulpits were preaching on God’s judgment.   Even though it is true, it ran people away from churches and worse …from God.  It wasn’t because God’s judgment is unfair, it is because people believed that was the entire character of God. They felt that He was a mean, angry,  dictatorial  God whom we all needed to be afraid of.  I know this because overall that’s what they implied at the little church that I went to.  It wasn’t true.  As my pastor often says:  “Judgment is when you get what’s coming to you, mercy is when you don’t.” God is a merciful God.  1 John 1: 9 says that if we repent of our sins He is faithful and just to forgive us and to cleanse us from any unrighteousness.   The God that I know is a loving God who has given me many new chances even after I’ve missed it or messed up too often; but I know that He will judge.  No one is exempt, but staying right before Him, puts one in good stead.

So why are so many people out of control?  I cannot answer that. However, much of it is demonic   and it has spiraled due to people being covetous or wanting what every one else has  (by any means necessary) .  I won’t even bother to mention things because when I do; I’ll leave something out and it may be important.    I might even put something in that isn’t a I do not want to be responsible for getting anyone off track.  If you want to know what not to do…pick up your bible and read it.

I can say that there must go out a warning that ignoring God’s commands is not something that will be tolerated or allowed very much longer.

Celebrities

Everyone mourns when a celebrity dies or gets very sick.   We all know that they lead  very fast paced lifestyles in an arena of temptation.    That is all that I need to say.  We do not know all that they do; but it seems that many of them are” looking”  (appearances) one way and living ( a lifestyle we cannot see) another.  Yes, I like them…but I don’t know them even if I read their book and neither do you.  There is no cause to idolize or worship them and make them gods as too many people do.  (and they know it which has a horrible impact on their egos promoting a lot of self destruction)

It is frustrating sometimes when I want to put videos on this site by some of the greatest singers in the world but I cannot because they dress so outrageously  and I have to search and search for a decent picture of them until I just give up.  I will not judge a person who covers their body with tattoos, but I will not publish even one on this site.  I will not knowingly dishonor God; nor should you.

I recently viewed a list of Celebrity Atheists in Hollywood…and my question is:  These are our role models?

I don’t think so.

I am warning these celebrities to get before God.  Time is running out and even though many of you believe you are flying below the radar…you will be judged  just like the rest of us. I’ve seen nowhere in the bible that you will be the exception. Stop running from God!  Live right!

There is a war going on and it is a war between good and evil.    So, sometimes what sounds like judging is simply a warning; but sometimes what sounds like judging is judging.  It’s hard to know the difference and I suppose that is where it gets tricky.

________________________________________________________________________________________

There is a standard for man to judge and it boils down to bringing a message from God.  It should be presented in a way that is not based on emotions or personal convictions; but on the Word of God.

It is difficult to receive a suggestion for correction from man because no man is perfect.  However, that is why God gives people spiritual wisdom, spiritual mentors and pastors and of course the bible says try the spirit.    We pray and ask God to allow us to operate in wisdom and to allow us to be prudent and careful with our words at these sites and in  our ministries.

Exodus 20: 3 Thou shalt have no other gods before me.

Matt. 7:1 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged.”

2 Cor 5:10 For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ; that every one may receive the things done in his body, according to that he hath done, whether it be good or bad.

Heb 12:23 To the general assembly and church of the firstborn, which are written in heaven, and to God the Judge of all, and to the spirits of just men made perfect,



Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

