Posted in Uncategorized

Do As You’re Told? by Elaine Davenport January 14-21, 2010

When we were little children when our parents told us to do something; if we ever had the nerve to ask why…the response was:  “Do As You’re Told!”  So we grunted under our breaths, and did it.

Well our  Heavenly Father is not like that…He loves us so much, that He will not force us to do anything.    He is not going to strong arm us.    He just asks us politely and if we don’t sometimes the consequences are simply that we missed it and sometimes we can’t tell the difference right away…but sometimes following that instruction could mean life or death.   It’s just not good trying to second guess or ignore God.

I  admit that one of the biggest problems in the body of Christ is that millions of believers don’t spend enough time praying, meditating, reading the bible or spending time with God.  That renders them totally clueless to the “specific” plan of God for them.  Will they get parts of the plan?  More than likely.  Will they get it all?  Doubtful.

Why aren’t believers doing what God says? Now that is the 64 million Dollar question!  Here are some answers; perhaps you’ll see yours on the list:

1.  I don’t know what God wants me to do.

1 John 2: 20  But ye have an unction from the Holy One and ye know all things.

2. I think I know a better way because it doesn’t make sense.

II Sam 22:  31 As for God.  His way is perfect; the word of the Lord is tried.  He is a buckler to all them that trust Him.

3. I am afraid I might do it wrong.

Rom 8:  15  For you have not been given the spirit of bondage again to fear…

4.   I want to do it, but I can’t change my schedule,  my circumstances or the way that I do things.  I want to be close to God but there has to be a better way.

Mk. 8:  34  …Whosoever will come after  Me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow Me.

5. I am just a procrastinator…I’ll get to it.

Jas 5:  16:  Confess your faults to one another and pray one for another that you may be healed.  The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.

6.  I’m not all that confident that I can do it.

Heb 10: 35 Cast not away your confidence which hath great recompense of reward.

7. My spirit wants to do it but my flesh will not coöperate.  Every time I start, something happens and I get frustrated.

Prov 16: 32

He that  is slow to anger is better than the mighty; and he that ruleth his spirit than he that taketh a city.

8. It’s a big assignment and it’s bigger than me, I can’t do it all.  It is going to take someone bigger than me to do it, perhaps someone with more influence.

Isaiah 40: 29  He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might He increaseth strength.

9.  I can’t do it.

Phil 4: 13  I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me.

10.  I don’t know what to do next, I pray but I am still confused..

Isa 63: 24  And it shall come to pass that before they call, I will answer and while they are yet speaking I will hear.

You see…God has a word for you in the Holy Bible.  God’s grace is sufficient for you to follow His plan.  He is a God who sees things beforehand and who has us do things in advance that are necessary for when we will need it.  Put your trust in HIm; you’ll be glad that you did.

I just want to encourage you if you’ve missed it; we all have…repent and ask God to help you stay on track and be ready to move forward…it’s kingdom work that we are here to do and…the time is short!

Father, I thank You for every person reading this.  I thank You that You hear their prayers and that You move on their behalf.  I thank You that Your glory shines through them as they make hasty steps to complete the assignment that You have given them.  Thank You so much for the honor.  Thank You for the trust.  Thank You for the wisdom.  Thank You for your grace.   Thank You for allowing us to know that You are backing the work using us.  Thank You for calling us righteous.   For Christs’ sake…So be it!


Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

2 thoughts on “Do As You’re Told? by Elaine Davenport January 14-21, 2010

  1. Food for thought yet very true. The best place to be is in the centre of Gods will there is no better place to be.

Leave a Reply

