Posted in Uncategorized

Faith and Thanks Intertwined! by Elaine Davenport January, 2010

A person of faith easily gives Thanks to God because they know that is the position that God expects us to be in when we approach Him!

It used to be really hard for me to give thanks or even to openly praise!  I had been bound by that long time judgmental belief that many doubters, atheists and lukewarm Christians face.  That is; I didn’t like the public showings of emotion.  They seemed like an act.  Even after I found a reason to be as excited as the people that were on fire for God, I was still reserved.  But, I still had a problem giving Thanks. It was as though I was acting like God owed me or even worse…it was in my head that God knew how happy I was.  Without intending it…

I was taking God for granted.  I hope that you aren’t doing that.

One day while studying the bible I began to think over my victories and out of my mouth Thanksgiving begin to pour out.  It was as if it had just quietly waited on me to release it!

It was powerful.

You see…we have so many reasons to be Thankful.  I am thankful that God has allowed me to serve Him, to allow me to meet with Him, that He saved me , loves me so much, that He planned so much joy for me, so much in-filling, such rich friendships that He has sent, such a lovely warm family, such a beautiful world, his majestic benevolence, colors, transitions, secrets unfolded, mysteries solved…

and so much more….and none of that describes what He has done for me which is not even a priority…I am thankful that He is using me, teaching me, showing me…allowing me…to meet you.

And all of this Thanking has led me to have stronger faith.  It is as though it is fuel for a car, releasing a combustive force that was just waiting.  I am truly Thankful for the intertwining between the two.

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

2 thoughts on “Faith and Thanks Intertwined! by Elaine Davenport January, 2010

  1. Elaine, I woke up with thanksgiving in my heart today. I told the Lord, ‘ THANK YOU FOR GIVING ME SUCH A LOVELY DAUGHTER. Motherhood is a joy for me. I am not ashamed to express publicly my thankfulness for that.

    Blessings and hugs, Gladwell

  2. Hi Gladwell! I know what you mean. You are so honest it is incredible and I love that about you. I am learning to be more in touch with my feelings especially towards God as I read your wonderful writings! You do have a lovely daughter and that is indeed something to be thankful for! I am thankful for my lovely children and my wonderful husband. We do not have enough space ONline to contain my thanks! 🙂 Love E

Leave a Reply

