Posted in Uncategorized

Giving Thanks in Prayer (Lesson 8) February 20-28, 2010

I’ve had the honor of receiving hundreds of prayer requests.  Many of the in person requests have heard me push them towards giving thanks.  People couldn’t really warm up to that.  At one time, I didn’t think that it was necessary.

The devil will always make something seem more dreadful than it really is.  Well, 8 years ago, I found myself in bed severely depressed over a lie.  I could not get out of the bed.  I was beside myself,  I was so sad. I heard a very small voice inside me say:  “Praise Me.”  So I whispered a little praise and thanks.  They are both intertwined.  Then I felt a little better and I did it again…and again…until finally I was standing up giving Thanks.

You see what a lot of prayer intercessors already know is that Thanksgiving and Praise are the next level.  It should be the first level; but there is something in the human psyche that makes it hard.

Thanking God in advance and praising God in advance is all faith.  Not a little, but a lot but it should come as second nature to ys!

It is something we should do before and after we pray all the day long!

Here are some Thanks scriptures to meditate up:

Give thanks to God for our daily provision, answer to prayer, and for others:
Romans 14:6 – Those who have a special day for worshiping the Lord are trying to honor him. Those who eat all kinds of food do so to honor the Lord, since they give thanks to God before eating. And those who won’t eat everything also want to please the Lord and give thanks to God.

2 Corinthians 1:11 – He will rescue us because you are helping by praying for us. As a result, many will give thanks to God because so many people’s prayers for our safety have been answered.

Philippians 1:3 – Every time I think of you, I give thanks to my God.

Colossians 1:3 – We always pray for you, and we give thanks to God the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Give thanks to God for everything, who God is, and for God being near:
Ephesians 5:20 – And you will always give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Revelation 4:9 – Whenever the living beings give glory and honor and thanks to the one sitting on the throne, the one who lives forever and ever.

Revelation 11:17 – And they said, “We give thanks to you, Lord God Almighty, the one who is and who always was, for now you have assumed your great power and have begun to reign.

There are many more.

You as a Prayer Intercessor carry a great responsibility to pray, to teach, to educate and to exhort.  If you will embrace this aspect; God will honor it beyond your dreams and desires!

Homework

1.  Begin a study on the importance of  Thanksgiving

2.  Start off everyday by Thanking God

3. Thank your way to your breakthrough

4.  PIck up some faith books on the subject of giving thanks…read them.

5.  Ask God in prayer to increase your understanding in that area.

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

