Posted in Uncategorized

Flatter or Rebuke! by Elaine Davenport February 19-26, 2010

Proverbs 28:23 AMP
He who rebukes a man shall afterward find more favor than he who flatters with the tongue.

I belong to a circle of prayer friends.  I can count on  them, call anyone of them, we are all on one accord.  We are not exactly alike;  but it doesn’t matter.  In that circle is so much wisdom and I’ve grown spiritually by being in their midst.  God has shown me so much just by my listening and watching and of course standing in faith and praying with them.    Most people in my circle try to stay positive and I do too.  We always try to flatter one another…but if there is a time to be rebuked; I’ve learn to respect it greatly if I receive it from any one of them or anyone of them. It is a delight to be in their presence because when there is a problem,  they handle it in prayer.

God is saying that it is better to rebuke someone that has done wrong than to flatter them.    Far too often, as saints we try to be polite and “gloss” over the fact that someone has committed a wrong and then to flatter them.  I recently was faced with this same challenge and I found myself either being neutral with a little encouragement.  I did not even know about this scripture.  I had originally planned to flatter the person because there was a gray area, but I ended  up saying a middle ground message.

I had to repent.  That isn’t what God said.  God said that  I’ll find more favor by rebuking; it doesn’t seem like it would.  But, in this case we must trust God and I know…He’ll be right.  (again!)

So, avoid trying to agree with what’s popular or trying to be liked…but SAY what is wrong.  Someone must speak up and it’s supposed to be “us.”  Whether that message is delivered publicly or privately…is WISDOM.


REBUKE: an act or expression of criticism and censure; “he had to take the rebuke with a smile on his  face.”

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

