Posted in Uncategorized

The Art Of Self Control! by Elaine Davenport March 19-26, 2010

Have you ever said something and regretted saying it?  I have.  But, it’s funny because those moments are always embarassing and yet it takes something like that to teach us a lesson.

Years ago, my mother had some extra money.  I was a young teenage girl and I did hear her say to keep it a secret.  I was filled with excitement and in front of the person she did not want to know; I blurted out:

”  I’m so glad that you have all of this money!     I’m so excited!”

I wish that you could have seen my mother react; she was shocked and just glared at me.

Then, I made things worse  …(as if they could);  I began to throw out the “cover up ” story.

“I mean, I’m so glad that Uncle Melvin called you and told you about that money that he received.”

By then, my mother was rolling her eyes at me. I quietly slivered out of the room.  Truly I did!

Well, this is a great example of lacking self control, not controlling my mouth, not thinking first and a lack of self discipline.  I suppose someone else might have said that it was a symptom  of immaturity.  I had become one minded.  I was thinking about me.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Jesus did not lack self control.  In fact, he certainly had the opportunity to do so.  In Mark 15; as they sought to bring charges against him…let’s look at what happens and remember…there was no innocent until proven guilty.  Jesus knew exactly what he was facing and he controlled himself living in the Spirit until the time of his death; when he cried ot…Matthew 27:46 tells us that about the ninth hour Jesus cried with a loud voice, saying, “Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” Here, Jesus was expressing His feelings of abandonment as God placed the sins of the world on Him – and because of that, God had to “turn away” from Jesus. As Jesus was feeling that weight of sin, He was experiencing a separation from God for the only time in all of eternity. This was also a fulfillment of the prophetic statement in Psalm 22:1.

The persecution begins… MARK 15 READ HERE


These are some of the things that they did to him before taking him to the cross; it was a time of the great persecution..and he said nothing: If you read about the journey of Jesus and all of the trials it should be very clear that He was (also ) the Master of Self Control which is an art; an ability.  Since Jesus is  Love remember that when we are told to love above all else that love not only represents the ability to forgive but also the ability to have self control!

17And they clothed him with purple, and platted a crown of thorns, and put it about his head,

18And began to salute him, Hail, King of the Jews!

19And they smote him on the head with a reed, and did spit upon him, and bowing their knees worshipped him.

20And when they had mocked him, they took off the purple from him, and put his own clothes on him, and led him out to crucify him.

(MARK 15)

If you are unable to control yourself or your mouth or your ability to pay your debts, work or whatever it is.  Ask the Lord to give you that ability and please stand in faith until it happens!


Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

