Posted in Uncategorized

Help Wanted: Translator Needed! by E. Davenport March 22-March 31, 2010

It was  weird; but it was a total revelation.  I was talking to a family member about the importance of going to church…and they seemed to be in an argumentative mood.  They explained to me that for some people…church is boring. They went on further to say that “we” needed to find a way to make church more exciting for the person that we were talking about.

What! I screamed! At this point I was mad.  ( I was speaking defensively because I couldn’t understand how anyone could feel this way!)

I, in a moment of insensitivity …exclaimed:  “We can’t make church exciting for anybody…they have to do that.  The only thing that I can think of is to promise them an exciting meal afterwards and offer to pay for it!”

My response  was not a good one, not a compassionate one nor was it a love response…but I was caught off guard.
And that’s no excuse!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

So, the true question here is:  “How do  “we” get our loved ones to see, hear, understand and love God as much as “we do”?

The answers are in the word of God.  But, who are they there for?   There are a lot; and we have to make a firm decision on who the message is for.
Here is a scripture which addresses the issue of salvation for our family that many of of know:

And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you shall be saved, and your house.    Acts 16: 31

BUT WAIT!    That’s not enough…how do we “get” them…to get the fire and the passion?

How?   It’s as though we need a full time translator…don’t they get it?

Time out:  Perhaps you are like me.  Maybe you’ve talked to you are blue in the face…but your unsaved or even saved family members don’t take the word of God as true.  It’s not a priority for them…they don’t “get it”; what should you do?


That answer is so simple…that for most; it won’t be enough!

Several scriptures come to mind:

Luke 18

1ALSO [Jesus] told them a parable to the effect that they ought always to pray and not to [a]turn coward (faint, lose heart, and give up).

We have to pray about This is why we have to trust Him:matters like these.   We only know so much…but God knows it all.

Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV
Trust in the LORD with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

I found my answer …He was there all along….I give it all to God!   He’s my translator!

Psalm 55:  22

Turn your burdens over to the LORD, and he will take care of you. He will never let the righteous person stumble.

1 Peter 5: 7

having cast all your care upon him, for he cares about you.

The answer is that I don’t have to do anything to my loved ones…but to keep showing them the love of God.  God will do the rest; I give it all to Him!   I will stay out of the way.






Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

