Posted in Uncategorized

Why Faith? April 20-27, 2010

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Play Here  (Music While you read…Be Still by Kari Jobe)

Some years back, I found myself taking an Ethics/Philosophy class from The IUK (Indiana University at Kokomo).

I was a minority who had not much in common with the people in the class.    It wasn’t your typical demographics that made me a minority…it was  our “end goals.”  You see…I had been to college a lot and I was determined to finish and get my college degree.  Yet, I found myself in a class with people who by their own admission did not have any course of direction.  They were just taking the course because it was available to them at no charge.  They quickly told the professor that it sounded impossible after reviewing his syllabus.  It did to me too.  We had that in common.

If I was assessing them…they didn’t seem all that bright…yet…I was to learn something from all of them that night!

All of a sudden, the people who were steel faced began to ask questions…every single one of them.  No one was left out…except me as I sat back in amazement.

So, the professor who at first seemed impenetrable in his “tough” specifications for our success…very slowly began  to bend ..

to the barrage of questions imploring him to make it easier.

But, there was one  lady who still wasn’t satisfied; so she raised her hand and spoke after the professor acknowledged her:

“We need you to throw us a life raft!”

“I will!”  was his response.  He went on further to explain that he would make the course easy and enjoyable for each of us.  And…he kept his word! You see, we did not just need to pass the class or get great grades…we needed an understanding.  We needed wisdom to get the understanding to complete the assigned tasks.   We needed guidance on how to do our parts.  We needed assurance that it would all be okay.  That day, we all had a belief that it was going to be okay,  We were convinced.,  We were persuaded.  We had faith in our professor’s word.

This simple story changed my life.  In every course that I took thereafter…I was liberated and empowered…I was no longer intimidated.  I began to ask every professor that I got for the sun, moon and the stars; not only on the first night of class, but everyone thereafter…I had no problem with asking for help.  As a result, I was rewarded throughout the entire course in which I successfully accomplished several career goals!

Perhaps…you are like me…you see this simple true story reminds us of our life with God.  Only our life with Him is better!  He will make our lives easier. He did that for me and countless others! He wants us to be empowered, delivered, set free, healed! Indeed we already are! He wants to have a personal relationship with us.  He doesn’t just want to be a professor in a class that we take two days a week; but He is our Father…with a Father’s love…who is at the ready available 24-7 and He wants us to represent Him in getting some things done.  He trusts us too and we cannot let Him down!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

The professor that I spoke of…controlled that course so to speak.  But God…controls the course of the life of believers.  We have faith in Him.  In His ability…not in our own.

Here’s a definition of faith:

Hebrews 11:1 (New International Version)

Hebrews 11

By Faith

1Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

It is a fact, that this life is a faith walk.  Everyday…each of us are facing with making the right decision in the big and in the little things…in every matter we must seek  God.

BUT, I REALIZE THAT I STILL HAVEN’T ANSWERED YOUR QUESTION….

WHY FAITH?

Ever heard the word problem?   That means that “something” has come up and you need resolution.  You  cannot do whatever it is on your own.  That means you need help.  God can help.  I know and the bible says He is no respecter of persons.  That means if He’ll help me …He’ll help you.

If this is a “first” time that you’ve ever had to use faith…to trust God to help you when you can’t see Him doing it…your answer is going to come.  Pray for peace as you wait.

If this is not the first time…you already know God answers prayers.  But, sometimes we must wait.  So please be patient.  Bu, be fixed!  Be sure that God answers prayers!  Be convinced that He will help you.  It is a fact…that sometimes God is the “only” help there is.  Do not put your faith in man…put it in God!

Here are some scriptures for you to meditate upon:

Matthew 7:7 Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:
8 For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.
9 Or what man is there of you, whom if his son ask bread, will he give him a stone?
10 Or if he ask a fish, will he give him a serpent?
11 If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?

Matthew 18:19 Again I say unto you, That if two of you shall agree on earth as touching any thing that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of my Father which is in heaven.



Matthew 21:22 And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer, believing, ye shall receive.

Luke 11:9 And I say unto you, Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.
10 For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.
11 If a son shall ask bread of any of you that is a father, will he give him a stone? or if he ask a fish, will he for a fish give him a serpent?
12 Or if he shall ask an egg, will he offer him a scorpion?
13 If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him?



John 14:13 And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.
14 If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.



John 15:7 If ye abide in me, and my words abide in you, ye shall ask what ye will, and it shall be done unto you.
8 Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples.

John 15:16 Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.

John 16:23 And in that day ye shall ask me nothing. Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whatsoever ye shall ask the Father in my name, he will give it you.
24 Hitherto have ye asked nothing in my name: ask, and ye shall receive, that your joy may be full.


Philippians 4:6 Be careful [NKJV: anxious] for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.


Philippians 4:19 But [NKJV: And] my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.


James 1:5 If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.

James 4:2 Ye lust, and have not: ye kill, and desire to have, and cannot obtain: ye fight and war, yet ye have not, because ye ask not.

1 John 3:22 And whatsoever we ask, we receive of him, because we keep his commandments, and do those things that are pleasing in his sight.

1 John 5:14 And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us:
15 And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________





Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

