Posted in Uncategorized

Your Adversary! by Elaine Davenport November 29, 2010

 

I’m a very positive person.  I don’t like to talk about negative stuff.  I watch “little” television even less of the news and if something major happens in the world; it isn’t likely that I’ll be the first to hear about it.  Celebrity gossip; I could care less.  None of that directly impacts my life…however I’m not unwise enough to overlook the things and situations around me. Gossip leaves a door open for satan so I try to avoid it.

It’s important because I have to know who to pray for and how to pray.  So while I do not seek out the information…I hold myself responsible to stand in the gap for other people.  No, I do not have to know them.

I don’t do it because I have nothing better to do.

 

You see…we have an adversary…an opponent; a rival; an enemy.   I was struck that one of the “web” definitions defined it as the opposite side in a lawsuit.  Well, I suppose it’d be strange for two friends to oppose each other.  One definition said it’s actually satan.  Nice to know that they figured it out!

_______________________________________________________________________________________

There was a little church in a small town somewhere in the  midwest region of the United States.  The people poured in on Sundays always because after many years of spiritual deadness; a few women at the church prayed for spiritual awakening.   Slowly it began to happen.   After five, years their membership began to greatly increase.

By the five year mark, the church began to multiply to the point where the current building plans would not hold all of the new congregants.   Simultaneously, the little quiet pastor had put together quite the Prayer Team.  After failing to get volunteers he made a bold move; he offered jobs to those who would be wiling to pray but mostly minister for causes that  were important to God.   So many people wanted to join forces for this worthy cause;  with pay.   Most people do not have to be paid to pray…but I will not say it’s bad because I do not know the circumstances.  I will say that prayer “stays back” the hand of evil.  And there is nothing wrong with rolling out thew troops!  I do know that there are ministries who pay people to pray.   But they are no t praying for ordinary things that might concern you or I; but for some very specific important things.     They do this because they want the job done, no lack of focus, no distractions; like a job.  And they have found that it is effective. But, on the other hand…I’m in a network of almost 3 dozen prayer warriors; we pray as volunteers and we’re very effective.  God will back either option if it is His will.

 

In another financial atmosphere…people would poured forth to volunteer.  Not everyone but some.  This team stood in the gap in prayer and God began to move in their lives so mightily and wonderfully; that many of them began to donate all or part of the paychecks in order to  help the ministry.

No, this isn’t a true story.  Well, at least not to my knowledge.   But, just like we have a very REAL force that comes against us; we have to have a very REAL force that counters that force.  Something to think about!

1 Peter 5:8 (King James Version)

8Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

Author:

I am a born again believer. I am a Prayer Intercessor, writer, wife, mom, sold out for God lady! I believe that Jesus heals. I also believe that many people need faith information and prayer and this site will offer this.

Leave a Reply

