Posted in Uncategorized

Prayer Warrior 101 (Session One) by Elaine Davenport January 23, 2010

Welcome!

A Prayer Warrior is someone who is committed to praying for others.  Very few people can start doing this;  at the ready, on  a consistent basis… totally focused.  You must be instant in season ready to pray always and always in tune.    It is a transitional place.   It is a position of faith.  It is a place where you will find yourself on direct assignment from God.  It is a place of humility.  There will not be great accolades for this on earth, but God cherishes you and your willingness to do this.

God’s priorities are our priorities!

Most people start praying for themselves and ultimately some are touched  in their hearts to pray for others because they understand that God honors prayer requests… for the chosen that are in right standing.  That “right standing” is not earned…it can’t be gotten by going to church or even praying…God gives it to us when we make Jesus our Lord and Savior!

You must understand this!

It’s called righteousness…and our own righteousness is as a filthy rag no matter who we are; so the only righteousness we can get that is worth anything is given to us.

A Prayer Intercessor is much the same only perhaps more committed.  Abraham interceded on behalf of the people of Sodom, getting before God to save that city, Nehemiah and Stephen were as well.

I like to equate the word warrior with the very fact that there is a war going on between the forces of darkness and the army of God!

This is certain and it is a fact.


Our goals here are to acquaint you, tell you and equip you.  Ultimately at the end we will challenge you with a great exercise.   In the meantime, we simply ask for you to consider coming to work for God.  I assure you that you will never regret taking that step!

2 Chronicles 7:14
If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

The Reasons That people start a Prayer Life

  • To be closer to God, Curiosity, to conquer fears,  a need for help, despair, desperation, seeking refuge, heavy hearts, pursuit of peace, need for Wisdom. to increase their faith, tired of failure, hope, they don’t know; they just do, God called them to prayer and so forth…

The Reasons That People decide to become a Prayer Warrior

  • a desire to help others, they want to see God’s plan go forth, they receive an assignment from God to do so, Inspiration, they realize the power of prayer, tired of losing and feeling helpless, they realize that in order to be successful; prayer is critical, they understand the links between prayer and faith, they realize that we are soldiers in the Lord’s army, they understand God’s call to pray, they seek a closer walk with God, they choose to be obedient to God’s Word, they hear from God and walk accordingly  and there’s more.  You will each probably have your own reasons.

I was the least likely candidate to become a prayer warrior.

When I was ten years old, I began to talk to God.  I suppose He spoke to my spirit because I always knew what to do.  Yet, I never prayed consistently, just when I needed to.

I will be honest…I had many ups and downs in my life but the Lord always delivered me and I made a lot of mistakes.  He is a forgiving God; a God of mercy.

Early in my courtship,  before marriage my husband to be explained that we would study to become Jehovah’s Witnesses.  I loved him dearly, but I was apprehensive.  God foiled those plans.  Every time the young man was to come to teach us something happened.    We did not hear from him for a while and we found out later that he had reverted to an old lifestyle which killed him.

There came a time in my life when I had it all, marriage, family, happiness and a good income but I was filled with fear from a couple of devastating sicknesses and I woke up one day knowing that I had to get closer to God.   I soon realized that the best way for me to do that was to discipline myself in prayer.

What Is Prayer: It is simply an honorable, reverent petition to God.  Prayer can be just spending time with God.  We do not have to ask for anything, He already knows the problem.  It’s your choice, your walk.  Sometimes it can be a petition of worship, or thanksgiving or praise and sometimes in involves a discussion.  God has the Wisdom, we do not so we seek it from God.  We are asking Him to guide our course, protect us, to intervene in our behalf.   But Prayer Warriors pray for others.  That is what we do.  I’ve noted that my problems have been minimized, quickly resolved and that they come and go with a quickness.  They are no longer my concern.

Why I Pray:  ( We welcome your input)

When I started praying, I prayed because I was desperate and curious seeking God.  I really didn’t know that I would “hear” from God and when I did; I was hooked! I felt like such a jerk, all those years I had prayed, I had never stuck around to hear if God had anything to say to little “ol” me.  I was humbled and amazed when I found out that He did.

I pray  because I love God so much and I want to serve Him.  I pray because I have peace in His presence and I feel secure in His presence.  I am excited to be with Him and to hear what He wants me to do.  I am thankful that He is ever so patient with me that even when I do not regard the small things as priorities that He loves me enough to push me, remind me, prod me  to get them done despite the distractions that occur.  I pray because prayer is  part of my life as vital to me as breathing.    Through my prayer journey God has rewarded me with a compass; it is my eyes, my ears, my heart, my thoughts, my peace, my Thanks…my humility, my love, my exercise of faith.

I pray because God’s plan is my priority and to understand His plan I must get before Him.  I pray because I am filled with God’s sweetness and I am driven to want more of Him and to do His will.  Praying allows me to serve God and to help people.   I have been called to hold the hedge with many others and it is an honor to be chosen.  I pray because prayer is the answer to that which we do not know.

Praying in the Spirit allows me to pray out God’s perfect will.  I have just begun to receive the interpretation  of my prayer language and it is Blessed.  Praying the Word of God allows me to deeply acquaint myself with the will of God.

I pray for the world’s leaders, for peace, for Jerusalem, against the enemy of the brethren, for others and their needs.  I get great joy in being a part of God’s plan to break the enemy’s back and I recognize warfare.

Tomorrow we will talk about Prayer and move to the next level.

Supplies:  Bible, Notebook, Pencil

Recommended Reading:  The Power of Prayer and Fasting by Mahesh Chavdna,   Secrets of a Prayer Warrior by Derek Prince

Exercises:  Take A Trip To your local Bible Book Store weekly. Pray today for 30 minutes to one hour.

Challenge:  Find one person each day and ask them if you can pray for them.

Recommendations:  Begin to write your own prayers using bible scriptures,

We welcome your opinions.

Tomorrow we will have questions for you.

Prayer Warrior 101 : Session Two Here

Prayer Warrior 101:  Session Three Here