Posted in Uncategorized

The Devil Preys! March 31- April 6, 2010

There was supposed to be a big fight on the playground after school.  The whole school was excited about it. I was supposed to have a front row seat and indeed I would have if I had showed up.  I decided to “get sick” and go home one hour early.


It all began with kids talking on the play ground.  We were in gym class and the two class giants were talking trash.  Everybody was afraid of them.  This was third grade and they were bullies.

(One of them was on the news last year because she had committed a crime, walked away from a women’s correctional facility and moved south and got married.  She stayed in hiding well over twenty years.)

The two class bullies were very good friends.    So, when they started intimidating me on the playground…I stopped them.   I wasn’t a fighter, but I had a way with words…and an older sister.  That said; I began to promise that my sister and I weren’t afraid of anybody etc. etc.    I had quite a mouth on me for a person who never had a fight before or after that day.

My”talk” was enough to keep them at bay until after school.

The next day no one said anything so I thought that it was all over.  When I got out of school, one of the girls was waiting for me.  I began to talk.  I knew how to “sound” angry. She stayed back but followed me all of the way home.  When we got near my house my mother who was always at work…opened the front door. The girl began to “tell on me.”

When she told my mother everything that I said…my mom promised me a whooping.  None of my protests were heard and the bully went home laughing; but she never bothered me again.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Now, years later…as a believer I’ve learned some things.  Yet, there is still a bully walking around…

Be sober and self-controlled. Be watchful. Your adversary, the devil, walks around like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. 1 Peter 5: 8

The Whole Idea that Satan is the accuser of the brethern is not some made up idea….it is straight out of the bible…in more than one place…

READ ABOUT SATAN GOING TO ACCUSE JOB HERE

Revelation 12:7-12 “And there was war in heaven: Michael and his angels fought against the dragon; and the dragon fought and his angels, And prevailed not; neither was their place found any more in heaven. And the great dragon was cast out, that old serpent, called the Devil, and Satan, which deceiveth the whole world: he was cast out into the earth, and his angels were cast out with him. And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, Now is come salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accused them before our God day and night. And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death. Therefore rejoice, ye heavens, and ye that dwell in them. Woe to the inhabiters of the earth and of the sea! for the devil is come down unto you, having great wrath, because he knoweth that he hath but a short time.”

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Word to the wise:

Satan’s target….is your heart, your mind…He wants you to be offended, get your feelings hurt…quit the path that you’re  on…move away from God.  So when something happens in your walk with God…remember that you may just be in “the blame game” and you may not be  a willing party…but you do have control over the outcome! Call on Jesus…he’s the defender!