Posted in Uncategorized

Cafe Sozo Celebrates 3 Year Blogiversary! March, 2010

Imagine yourself making a decision to write on the Internet…and you don’t know what you are doing. It’s a total faith walk.  It’s hard enough that you’re really not technologically savvy, but the biggest deal is that everybody knows it but you.

lol….that’s how it was when we started Cafe Sozo three years ago.  There was literally only two sites then, but no one came. So those two sites were dismantled and we moved…here to Word Press.

Word Press offers so much.  But, for those  of us that love quantitative data…it was like a gold mine.

It soon became obvious that we needed to write frequently and add more sites.  There were many 14 hour days…and many friends that we met along the way.

This is not some big and arrogant site.  No, not at all!  We are humbled.  We are thankful for you who have come and supported us with your feedback.

Although we never intended to; our hearts have often been  nearly melted by the nature of the prayer requests that we have received.  So, we rededicated our focus to pray without ceasing for every prayer whether the request is left here or not and we do this consistently,

Moments...

A special Thank You to Gene McGuire!  He was there from the very beginning!  His wonderful articles drew lots of feedback from people who were drawn to his “tell it like it is” admirable style!  I have learned so much from him.  Especially about having a big heart and being consistent!


Over the years, we adopted a ministry from across the world although we are not yet  a 501c3 ministry.  It is pending.  We started a campaign to help families at Christmas and that was Blessed.

I recall with fondness the year of 2008 when God sent a chaplain from upper Michigan, a minister from New England and a Messianic Jewish sister who all three ran the site in my absence!  It was powerful!

God sent wonderful friends who Blog …and He is still sending them.   We became friends…all from different corners of the world!  Sharon, Bisi, Gladwell, Sondan, Marta, Joana  and Chee…thank you so much for the friendships!

Sharon, you have been so faithful!   I want God’s best for you in your life and I know  that you will have it!

Bisi, I thank you for your friendship…I’ve learned so much from you.  Your encouragement and your kindness; I have treasuered!  I hold you close to my heart and in my prayers.
What can I say Gladwell…I thank God for your strength and your courage.  I set my prayers in agreement with your prayers…and thanking God that He will continue to increase you, Bisi and Sharon.  You all have HIs heart!

Chee, you’ve been so kind.  You are so talented, you have so much wisdom.  I pray for you and your continued faith and strength…and I am so thankful that you are not ashamed to profess your love for God!


My email network…Wow…thank you!  Hundreds of emails from the articles on site and only one person said:  “Take me off the mailing list.”    So much encouragement from so many of you!

I am thankful to God for letting me be His sidekick!  He’s such a great teacher!   It’s been a wonderful journey…and I love it!

I’m leaving something out…but it’s late…you are all worth it…so I press my way to continue on!  Thank You!   Blessings to you All!

Faith is the substance of things hoped for; the evidence of things not seen.  Hebrews 11: 1


There is nothing glamorous about Blogging…and yet it is a privilege to do so. Faith Blogging is different.   Mainly because there are people out there looking for a word from God and our job is to deliver it without distorting the message.   There is a great responsibility…and there are many who may not take it seriously…I don’t know…I’m not them.  But, I take it seriously…and I pray the best for them!

Behind the scenes, a lot of prayer takes place and my prayer is solid that God will continue to draw by His Spirit!

Posted in Uncategorized

Help Wanted: Translator Needed! by E. Davenport March 22-March 31, 2010

It was  weird; but it was a total revelation.  I was talking to a family member about the importance of going to church…and they seemed to be in an argumentative mood.  They explained to me that for some people…church is boring. They went on further to say that “we” needed to find a way to make church more exciting for the person that we were talking about.

What! I screamed! At this point I was mad.  ( I was speaking defensively because I couldn’t understand how anyone could feel this way!)

I, in a moment of insensitivity …exclaimed:  “We can’t make church exciting for anybody…they have to do that.  The only thing that I can think of is to promise them an exciting meal afterwards and offer to pay for it!”

My response  was not a good one, not a compassionate one nor was it a love response…but I was caught off guard.
And that’s no excuse!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

So, the true question here is:  “How do  “we” get our loved ones to see, hear, understand and love God as much as “we do”?

The answers are in the word of God.  But, who are they there for?   There are a lot; and we have to make a firm decision on who the message is for.
Here is a scripture which addresses the issue of salvation for our family that many of of know:

And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and you shall be saved, and your house.    Acts 16: 31

BUT WAIT!    That’s not enough…how do we “get” them…to get the fire and the passion?

How?   It’s as though we need a full time translator…don’t they get it?

Time out:  Perhaps you are like me.  Maybe you’ve talked to you are blue in the face…but your unsaved or even saved family members don’t take the word of God as true.  It’s not a priority for them…they don’t “get it”; what should you do?


That answer is so simple…that for most; it won’t be enough!

Several scriptures come to mind:

Luke 18

1ALSO [Jesus] told them a parable to the effect that they ought always to pray and not to [a]turn coward (faint, lose heart, and give up).

We have to pray about This is why we have to trust Him:matters like these.   We only know so much…but God knows it all.

Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV
Trust in the LORD with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.

I found my answer …He was there all along….I give it all to God!   He’s my translator!

Psalm 55:  22

Turn your burdens over to the LORD, and he will take care of you. He will never let the righteous person stumble.

1 Peter 5: 7

having cast all your care upon him, for he cares about you.

The answer is that I don’t have to do anything to my loved ones…but to keep showing them the love of God.  God will do the rest; I give it all to Him!   I will stay out of the way.






Posted in Uncategorized

Somebody’s Watching Over Me by Howard Hewitt (mp3) March 27- April 2, 2010

Play Here

 

HOME PAGE


Psalm 91

1He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

2I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

3Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.

4He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

5Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day;

6Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.

7A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.

8Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked.

9Because thou hast made the LORD, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation;

10There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling.

11For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

12They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone.

13Thou shalt tread upon the lion and adder: the young lion and the dragon shalt thou trample under feet.

14Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.

15He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him.

16With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.

 

______________________________________________________________________________________________

 

HOME PAGE